How is a coconut tree born ?

in #food6 years ago

Well, not something extraordinary. Every seed gives birth to a plant much like every baby grows up to become a parent someday. That's nature and God has created everything with much planning. While we have all watched pulses sprout, I think it is rare to see a coconut sprout.
IMG_20180810_101000.jpg

I belong to the coastal region of southern India and coconut is my staple. I cannot end a day without a meal that includes coconut. No matter if I like it or not, I need to have coconut in my food because that's the only way we have learnt to cook.

My mum had a small house with a garden that had 4 coconut trees. Almost every house in the city has trees to ensure that we get the supply of coconuts all round the year without actually having to pay for it.

Coconuts are amazing. The green ones make a refreshing drink while the brown ones could end up in that tasty dip or a wonderful nutritious curry. Back here, we worship coconut trees for every part of it is used in some way or the other. The leaves make wonderful tatched roof or broom sticks, the fruits are edible, the out covering of the fruits is used in making coir, coconut shells are used in making buttons and other interesting things, the shoot is used as an excellent firewood.

I am not sure if it will interest you, but I thought it would and couldn't stop myself from clicking pics when I found the sprouted coconut in my coconut stock. In the inside you can see a creamish white buld that is crunchy and soft and tastes nothing like you have ever tasted. I absolutely love the sprouted coconut bulb. You don't get to buy them in the market and when you have it at home, you need to fight with your siblings just for a bite of it.

Next time you see a coconut sprout, don't forget to taste the bulb, you'll surely thank me for it :)

IMG_20180810_101108.jpg

Sort:  

यह एक शुद्ध शाकाहारी चीज है और मुझे बहुत पसंद है. इसका पौष्टिक दूध भी बना सकते है जो मांसाहारी पशु दूध से कही ज्यादा अहिंसक है.
I like it.

I love coconuts🥥

Coconut water is my favourite drink

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83