Growing up I baked with my Grandmother <3 a personal story

in #food7 years ago

It deeply saddens me to say that recently I have lost the true matriarch of our family, my Grandmother, growing up my grandmother lived very close to my family, just a few blocks down the road, an easy walking distance and it never hurt to stop by grandmas on the way home from school! Nevertheless, my grandma and I were very close and I'm sure some people out there can also relate! To me, my Grandmother was the best! She was so calm so sweet so elegant and so very gentle always saying she loved my smile how beautiful I was and she never failed to mention how good I always smelt and asked me what perfume I had on even though we all knew her favourite perfume was coco Chanel number 5. Anyways, the memories I remember the most with my grandma was baking with her. She had hand written recipes that she would share with me and bake with me every holiday such as Easter, Christmas, thanksgiving, and even family get togethers! Sadden by the loss of my grandma I was over at my mothers and feeling to bake to lift up my spirit, and my families, I was going through my moms cooking books when a piece of old paper fell out, it sad "banana bread" and I turned it over and it was my grandmothers recipe her writing and all! In shock I ran to the kitchen just thinking I HAVE TO BAKE THIS! And so I did, and it was the best banana bread I have ever had or baked! At the end of the recipe it said to add chocolate chips if needed and I remembered my grandmother had a sweet tooth... so I just knew to add the chocolate chips! The end result! Delicious chocolate chip banana bread! IMG_0038.JPGIMG_0037.JPG
May god bless you all thanks Grandma I will miss you !

Sort:  

Nice. I used to bake with my grandmother as well. Followed you back.

Such a great experience I'm glad we have something in common thanks for the follow

Touching story, which I can relate to. My grandma passed away in Indonesia when I was working in Alberta. She was the best from all members our family/relatives. It was sad yea. By the way, that cake looks so delicious lol thanks for posting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67584.80
ETH 3438.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70