You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growing Onions 101

in #food7 years ago

Nice post. I pulled all my onions and they are on the window sills in my porch. It's pretty cold and I'm guessing it will drop below freezing. I don't know enough about storing onions. Somewhere cool and darK but not too cool? Can I lob them in a cupboard under the stairs?
I'm guessing the best thing will be a clamp or some kind of root cellar.
Are they susceptible to be damaged by light freezing do you know?
I liked your post.
Following.

Sort:  

I would avoid them freezing if you can, they tend to get mushy. I would recommend hanging them under your stairs if you can. I've seen people take old panty hose, put an onion in and then tie a knot, and add another onion on top, tie a knot, etc. It helps keep the air flowing around them. Thanks for following! I've followed you back and can't wait to check out your page!

wonderful! That sounds really doable. I have space under my stairs for this too and my daughters are always laddering tights! I'll raid their draws!
Thanks for the suggestion. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31