Lamb Chops Braaied the South African Way

in #food8 years ago

Lamb Chops Braaied the South African Way

enter image description here

To Braai is part of the South African culture, and is done on a regular basis by most people. To do this successfully you need a proper fire. The key to a good fire is good wood, that must be dry and form good coals to braai on. I normally use "sekelbos" which is a type of tree that grows in South Africa.

Below I have packed my wood
enter image description here

I then use fire lighters to light the fire as shown below.
enter image description here

Below is a photo showing my fireplace.
enter image description here

While waiting for the fire to burn, I opened a good bottle of red wine. (Normally I drink a beer, but in this case my wife and I had red wine)
enter image description here

The fire is burning brightly
enter image description here

The next essential ingredient for a good braai is good meat. In this case I chose some nice lamb chops.
enter image description here

The meat needs to be prepared before the time, I like to use "Jimmy's sauce", together with some fresh lemon juice from the tree in my garden for marinating the meat,
enter image description here

In the casserole you can see some of the marinated meat.
enter image description here

When the fire is almost burnt out I break and spread the coals to form a nice even fire as shown in the photo below. Just look at the nice sparks!!
enter image description here

The coals are ready for the meat, nice and hot!!
enter image description here

The meat on the coals, looking goooood!!
enter image description here

One more ingredient, "Braai salt" which is a coarse salt, I normally apply it, just after I have turned the meat the first time
enter image description here

When it is done you just dish up and eat. My wife made a nice tomato, cucumber and feta cheese salad to go with the meat.
enter image description here

This is a very simple dish, easy and enjoyable to prepare. You can relax nicely while sipping on the wine and talking to whoever joins you for the braai. Pure bliss !!

Al photos are my own, and was taken with my iPhone.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed reading the post. All you need to do now is to start the fire and start to BRAAI

Sort:  

Those Lamb Chops look amazing, @rynow! Your post is part of the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 067!

Hi @steemitrecipes

Thank you for commenting and adding my recipe to the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36