You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Chinese Food Really Strange & Bizarre?

in #food6 years ago

Great post. I think here in the west we have gotten a bit spoiled in that we only eat the "best" parts of an animal. Best is very subjective obviously. While we love our BBQ now days at one point BBQ was the cheap and tough meats and that's why they were cooked for so long but now we love our BBQ.

Another kind of interesting cultural tidbit about food, I heard on the NorthEast they used to serve prisoners lobster because it was viewed as gross or like bugs from the sea, obviously today it's incredibly expensive.

Another intresting example is chilean sea bass, the origional name wasn't that appetizing, they change the name and now it's something sold in fancy restaurants.

I always find it funny what's good or prized in one culture and gross in another. My grilfriends family is from Mexico so occasionally we'll have tripe or tongue which initially I thought was kind gross but it's so good I just can't turn it down. One of her uncles is way more "mexican" if thats a word lol than the rest of her family. I was over at his place andthey were having rabbit brains, that was a bit too much for me.

Sort:  

Tripe is something I have gotten used to. That's really wild about the lobsters being served to prisoners. I never heard about that before.

The brain is a little too much for me too. I tried eating duck brains and the taste is too strong lol.

Yeah interesting article about it...

https://gizmodo.com/lobsters-were-once-only-fed-to-poor-people-and-prisoner-1612356919

"Lobster was also commonly served in prisons, much to the displeasure of inmates. American lobster was initially deemed worthy only of being used as fertilizer or fish bait, and until well into the 20th century, it was not viewed as more than a low-priced canned staple food."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44