What does a Chinese urbanite eat on an ordinary day?

in #food8 years ago

Fried insects, turtle jelly, bulls’ testicles, snake soup, birds nest… If you have any Chinese friends, you’d almost certainly have heard of them proudly talking about the weird stuff that they have sunk their teeth into. We Chinese eat all tongue, stomach, blood, and intestines.

Calm down, calm down. Although Chinese cuisine has countless delicious and amazing dishes, I’m just going to share what I, a normal person, nine-five in Shanghai, eat on an ordinary working day.

For breakfast, I would probably start with some toasts or cereal, just like most of you steemers do every morning.

However, what’s more common for most Chinese is rice porridge and boiled egg. The salad on the side is what I prepared for lunch today. The vitamin gummies are presents from friend who’s just back from the US and the jelly capsules are presents from a friend back from Australia. Yes it is now summer holiday and a lot of people take days off to travel around the globe.

For lunch, I go to our company cafeteria, which looks like this.

I usually pick three or four dishes and gobble down with rice.

Sometimes we are all fed up with the boring cafeteria so we go out to have a much nicer meal, like this new trendy steamed seafood place.

The steamed clams and mantis shrimps are juicy, delicious, and healthy.

Yesterday we went to another seafood place close to work. We just love seafood. Nobody seemed to be chatting during lunch.

When I get home around 6pm, I would go to my in-laws to have family dinner, with my daughter, husband and his parents, they live just 5-minute-walk away. I really like my mother-in-law’s cooking. The bottom left stew pig feet in soy sauce with yellow beans are tender and slippery, and they’re believed to be really good for your skin.

Other times I go out and have dinner with friends. There’s nothing better than feasting on a big pile of spicy mini lobsters and cold beer after a long hot summer day. They are tasty and an excellent alternative source of high quality protein.

I also have a passion in cooking and enjoy having friends come over for a home-made feast. I like to cook western style, and will share more with further blogs if you like.

#food #cn #hot-mom

Sort:  

I feel a bit hungry now..

在那儿吃应该没有地沟油吧?哈哈

看的我又饿了。

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60