You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Spices of Life: Allspice, Mace and Nutmeg

in #food8 years ago

My wife does all the cooking these days. She's much better than me. She tries to use the freshest spices she can find and will only use jarred spice as a last resort. I tell everyone she is the best cook I know. (being Italian probably helps :-D) She tells me not to say that but everyone who's tried her cooking agrees.

Sort:  

Thank you for commenting @roswellrockman!
I agree with your wife's strategy to try to buy the best, freshest spices that she can.
In the case of the spices that I have showcased today, many people don't realize that mace and nutmeg come from a tree and the same tree at that. Also, lots of people think that allspice is a blend of cinnamon, nutmeg and clove and it's actually a single independent spice that mimics that flavour combination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39