What's for Lunch: Spring Rolls

in #food6 years ago

We Filipinos call this Lumpiang Shanghai but me amd my friends call it Jumping Shanghai. No it does not jump. One of my friends was assigned before to write down the list of food we want for a party we were organizing at school. This was back in the day when lists weren't keyed in on a smartphone but was carefully handwritten in our intermediate pad papers. Now, my friend has keen attention to detail but we forgot one thing. Her penmanship is not so readable. That's why when we saw the word "Jumping Shanghai", we all asked her what it is and we all had a lighbulb moment when she said it was "Lumpiang Shanghai". It really cracked us all up, we have called it jumping shanghai ever since.

image

Anyways, enough backstory. Let me share my recipe for today's lunch. It's really simple. There are only two parts of the spring roll, the meat on the inside and the wrap. First things first.

The meat

All you need are the following:

1/4 kg Ground pork
Half an onion (diced)
3 cloves of garlic (minced)
Salt and pepper
1/4 tsp sesame seeds
1/4 tsp olive oil
1 egg

Just mix everything evenly. Set in the fridge overnight.

The wrap

It's not like I cooked my own wrap, I don't know how to do that. But this is still the most challenging part of this recipe. The challenge is how you can separate the wraps from one another.

image

If not done properly, you will end up with something like this. I don't think this could hold the meat.

image

Or maybe I'm just not that good at this. Oh well, it took me three tries before I ended up with a perfectly separated wrap.

Once you have actually separated enough wraps, you can now start wrapping the meat. I settled with one tablespoon of meat per wrap.

image

Once that's done, you can go ahead and fry the rolls until they are golden brown.

image

And that's it. It tastes good the husband and the kiddo approves. I tested it on three dips: garlic ranch dressing (left over from the chicken sandwich), sweet and sour sauce and catsup. I like catsup the least.

♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

♥.•:¨Thank you for visiting my blog!¨:•.♥

image

image

Sort:  

Surprise!!! Sarap naman nito Ms @romeskie. Nakakgutom.

Hello @fotografia101! sali ka sa Pinoy Henyo tonight. We're here sa Love Radio. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80