New Bonavita Coffee Brewer? - Review

in #food7 years ago

I love to geek out on coffee gadgets and I have many ways to brew my morning coffee. I've grown to love the simplicity of a pour over (with a kalita wave) it's my preferred method of brewing the body is just right, the flavors shine through. I wanted a way to automate the process of brewing coffee with a timer so that I could wake up to the smell of coffee, I wanted to be lazy.

I did my due diligence and found out that bonativa makes a pour over style brewer (I learned about this a while ago but hadn't pulled the trigger). In order to get that time delay start I had to get the 5 cup bv1500-td model, which wasn't as highly rated but I knew that all it needed to do is heat the water to the correct temperature (198-205F) and sprinkle the water over a coffee laden filter n basket. I am a bit of a miser and hate to pay full price so I found a used but in good condition one on amazon for 35% off (sweet).

When the FedEx guy came to deliver his parcel I ran up to greet him and quickly snatched the package from him. I ran into my kitchen and gleefully ripped open the box and quickly assembled my new brewer. I noticed a couple of small imperfections but I didn't care. I cleaned the used brewer cause I didn't know if the previous owners were the sanitary types or not.


Then I brewed some of my own roasted coffee and conducted a 2hr taste testing (sort of like a cupping). The coffee was coming out flat, a little bitter, and not quite how I like it. I decided to make a pour over with the same coffee and it was totally different, better.

I thought, it must be this metal carafe so I swapped it for my glass carafe. The taste was still not that great, I was mortified.
Then I realized this model didn't have that digital display with the clock on it and I realized I got the wrong model, amazon sent me a different model! I looked it up and it was in fact the bonavita bv1900ts, which had a better rating and was supposed to be more expensive. In the end I couldn't go backwards to lesser coffee so I returned the bv1900ts.

Sort:  

wow. yummy

It's very beautiful post!
Great job, I follow you now :)

Awesome, keep it up!

Thanks gregm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15