Marley Coffee – Jamaica Blue Mountain

in #food8 years ago

This is a rare treat that I found at my local discount store, I don’t think they realized what they had. Luckily for me I have heard of the fame of Jamaica Blue Mountain coffee, otherwise I would have passed this by as a gimmicky bag of coffee. I saw this variety of coffee at a Starbucks (I went there for their turkey bacon on wheat) and I saw it for sale at about $30-$40 a pound! The reason for the excessive price is because it’s good coffee and there is a small growing region in the small country that produces it and most of this is exported to Japan, so in other words this is one of the most scarce coffee varieties in the world.

For this morning’s cup I used an inverted aeropress method with precise measurements.

Very floral, hardly any citrus, fairly nutty, a syrup sweetness, good full body mouth-feel, there are some chocolate notes as well. I like the flavor. The packing indicates that this is “artisan roasted”, which in some circles it is. The roaster seems to have roasted this a bit darker then I believe they should have and the coffee came ground (not whole bean). Due to this I think some of the unique flavor is lost. I’m looking forward to trying this rare exotic coffee again from a roaster that has a grasp of what third wave coffee should be.

Sort:  

never tried any Jamaican coffee yet

It's good stuff, but hard to find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64668.46
ETH 3173.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58