My First Introduction to Chinese Hotpockets 馅饼

in #food7 years ago


It's always interesting to stumble onto Chinese foods that bare a remarkable similarities to western food. China was the first to create sandwiches, and now, they can likely lay claim to meat pies or hot pockets. The word  Bǐng generally speaking means pancake, and there are many different types. The things that are like hotpockets or meat pies go by the name 馅饼  Xiàn bǐng。The type I have tried are the baked variety.



These are the four that I have tried, so far. 



This one is 黑椒牛肉  Hēi jiāo niúròu.  I admit the photo is not as appetizing as this actually was. Basically, this is a black pepper spiced beef.



This one was 麻辣鸡肉  Málà jīròu -- basically, spicy chicken. Again, not a great photo.



This was 叉烧里脊  Chāshāo lǐjí -- marinated pork tenderloin, the name doesn't include corn and peas involved. 



This one was 香辣鱿鱼  Xiāng là yóuyú -- spicy squid. I thought one bite into this would lead to a photograph of tentacles in a bread pocket. In a way, I was glad the squid was chopped. Everytime I have eaten squid, I have found squid tentacles a little bit too chewy.

Naturally, some are better than others. I liked the spicy chicken the most out of the these four, but there is so many variety of these in China. I am looking forward to trying so much more. One day, in Nanjing, I might find one filled with duck or lamb meat, and that 馅饼 will be glorious. 

Sort:  

I want one bite to but i cant :)

Damn, you remind me of a shop that sold these... It even had a Bitcoin ATM in it. Shame it's not here anymore.

I had something similar recently except it was filled with pork but yours looks more delicious.

I could try a new Chinese food item everyday for the rest of my life, and I wouldn't even cover half of what China has to offer. Oh, by the way, I found a Singaporean chain cafe in my city. I can't wait to try!

Cool. Let me be the judge of how authentic just by looking only unfortunately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68