For the Love of Mangos: Honeymoon Dessert

in #food7 years ago


Something are just simply delicious by themselves and nothing much needs to be done or added. That's how I feel about mangos. Sure, the very juicy ones can make a mess of your clothing if you are not careful, but for the most part they can be enjoyed as is. It feels like Honeymoon Dessert thinks the same way.  This is a Hong Kong desert chain that is spreading across China and the rest of Asia. Most of what they have to offer just revels in simplicity. Take the above photo, for instance, it's just a thin pancake wrapped around a single slice of mango and some whipped cream.  Or this....


It's just diced mango, mango cream, and a scoop of mango ice cream.  That may sound like mango overload, but each rendition of the fruit has a slightly different taste and texture that works well together. Recently, I also tried this...



Mango sago. It's a dessert native to Hong Kong. Essentially, it's just mango in a prepared type of coconut milk. The clear looking bubbles near the mango are called sago. This is a type of starch that comes from tropical palm trees. I ordered this once because I thought I never had sago before, but the slightly bland taste reminded of some of the things you can find at the bottom of a cup of Chinese milk tea. 


Of course, Honeymoon desert serves more than just mango related treats. There is a whole range of things that include a wide variety of fruits from banana to durian. The approach is similar throughout all the menu -- things are kept deceptively simple. Eventually, I will work me way through their large menu, but it will take a lot of time. Even if the desserts are made with real fruit, I try not to eat desserts all too much. Denying myself such things makes eating them all the more special when I eventually cave in and indulge. 


 

Sort:  

Great photos of desserts @richristow!
I love the mango, and the first one looks delicious!

Looking good! Will have to try to make some myself. Shouldn't be to hard to do :)

Yeah, it's fairly simple if you think about it. Best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61547.52
ETH 2377.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58