Finding a Western Meal in Jiangyin, Wuxi

in #food8 years ago

Finding non-Chinese food in a city may sound like a challenge, but Trip Advisor can helpful. It also can be notoriously incorrect. Sometimes, a restaurant can go out of business, and the profile on Trip Advisor will remain and become misleading. I have a rule that goes like this: most of what you read about China online is either inaccurate or out of date. That will likely apply to this post in about a year or two. 

Anyhow, I went to Jiangyin last Sunday to see if I could find some of the restaurants listed on Trip Advisor. Jiangyin is a small city to the north of Wuxi and to the east of Changzhou's Xinbei district. Getting there took one hour by bus. Here is a pictorial of my food search. 


Where I ended up eating wasn't near all of the other western restaurants. It was near Huangshanshu Park, which is one of Jiangyin's main tourist attractions. 



So, I was wandering around a new-to-me Chinese city, and I ended up eating beef quesadillas and lamb shanks. That, plus two Diet Cokes had my bill under 200 RMB. I would eat again at St. Marco next time I am in Jiangyin. 


Sort:  

Lamb shanks in China? Wow!
Let's introduce it to the world.

And these are not the first lamb shanks I've had here. There is a Malaysian fusion chain restaurant called "Secret Recipe" in English that also has them on the menu.

Cool! There you wont be homesick ;)

666 bar is as from hell.

in china, 6 is a lucky number. 66 is double luck. 666 is triple luck. So, the opposie of the western meaning.

what's the last in the pic,I want to have a go.

those are lamb shanks. Usually the cheapest dish when it comes to lamb.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42