Chinese Stuffed Chicken Wings 鸡翅包饭

in #food7 years ago

A few days ago, I wrote that it was relatively easy to find grilled pork spare ribs as a snack or simple lunch in my end of China. I had a craving today, and I returned. In addition to my now "usual" at these sorts of grill stands, I opted to try something new.


The two other meat-on-bone options I have had before at restuarants. Both the shank and the other thing (on a scapular bone? Need to look that up some day) tend to be tougher and stringier, and while they are good, I will always defer to a juicy short rack of ribs. Yet, I decided to also give the chicken in the picture a try.



Let's breakdown the Chinese characters, first. 

鸡 -- chicken

翅 -- wing

包 -- bag / wrap

饭 -- rice


Essentially, it's a boneless chicken wing with rice stuffed into it. In most cases, it's glutinous rice. Sometimes, the rice might have some veggies mixed in. What I ate today had peas. So, we can basically call 鸡翅包饭  Jīchì bāofàn. So how was it? And remember, whenever I am going for Chinese fast food / street food, I always tell them not to spice up my food. 


For a moment, I thought stuffing a chicken wing was a little bizarre, but we kinda do the same thing with western food. After all, chicken cordon bleu is basically cheese and ham wrapped in a chicken breast before being cooked. It tasted good as grilled chicken -- especially with the bones removed. Even though this originally comes from Hunan, I think, I am assuming the taste will slightly vary based on where in China you eat this. They guy cooking it did a good j0b of not overdoing underdoing it. While I didn't enjoy this as much as I did my spareribs, I am intrigued to try this again and other shops to compare.  For a moment, I thought stuffing a chicken wing was a little bizarre, but we kinda do the same thing with western food. After all, chicken cordon bleu is basically cheese and ham wrapped in a chicken breast before being cooked. 


Sort:  

The Thais also have similar stuffed chicken wings but I don't think it stuffed with rice. I did a search and found one that said noodles inside but I think this one is more like the one I know:
http://www.geniuskitchen.com/recipe/stuffed-thai-chicken-wings-136777#activity-feed

Wow they look great, very rich, first time I see stuffed wings, because in case they are almost pure bone, but very interesting to know a new way of preparation and to be able to taste something out of the ordinary and routine, very interesting greetings your post

Chicken wings are i think everyone's favorite.

You are a food lover. So for you i have started food blog @gauravgpt60. For now i have shared BLUEBERRY SMOOTHIE Recipe. So visit- @gauravgpt60 and follow for this Recipe and more upcoming food blogs.

Upvoted and followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79