Key Lime Pie

in #food7 years ago

Google Images

Key Lime Pie is one of my very favorite desserts and you don't have to go to the Florida keys to enjoy the real thing... You can make it at home. It's easy to make and you don't have to be an expert to make a perfect pie.

Ingredients:

Joe & Nellies Key Lime Juice (if they don't carry it at your local supermarket, you can order it online... I get mine through Walmart- it's cheap)

1- 9" Graham Cracker pie crust

1- 14 oz can Sweetened Condensed Milk

3- Egg Yolks

1/2 cup Joe & Nellies Lime Juice

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix all ingredients (I use a blender) and pour into crust

Bake for 15 minutes

Allow to stand for 15 minutes before refrigerating

When chilled, top with whipped cream and serve

(I suggest making more than one... they don't last long!)

Sort:  

Looks good. I've been wondering if a key lime/tangerine pie might be something worth trying.

Looks really a good cake, dear Rich!!!

They are incredible! Key limes are very different, bitter and the pulp is yellow instead of green. They don't grow anywhere else that I know of and those pies are famous!

I've never eat a Key Lime Pie, but the next time I'll be in a bakery I'll search it (I'm pretty sure that I'll cook it by myself the result will be not so good ^_^)

Don't buy one at a bakery... it won't be real. The ones sold away from the Florida Keys are made with artificial filling (and they're really bad). If you google Joe & Nellies Key Lime juice you can order it online. It isn't expensive (I think I paid $4.95 or maybe $3.95). It's the only way to get the real thing.

Good to know! I follow your tip, dear friend! ^_^

good dessert I adore juicy and soft pies

Key lime is definitely in my top three pies.

It's easy to make and just as good as any pie on the Keys!

I love this pie. Tried to upvote your post as soon as posted but could not make it happen.

I appreciate the thought! I worked on the Keys and have had the "real thing" at several places there and this recipe is just as good as any pie I had there.

YUM save me a slice please :)

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on steemit. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Wow! I love that pie!!! You're amazing!

And it's so easy to make! Even my first wife couldn't screw it up (she once burned a pot of water)

"I suggest making more than one... they don't last long"

You've got that one right!

There was a kid when I was in college that I mentored. He used to come to dinner sometimes and I had made some... He said it was the best thing he ever ate and ate half a pie (after eating 2 plates of spaghetti!)

Hmmm, sounds like me! Io sono molto goloso!

Congratulations @richq11! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You are making m hungry! It looks delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80