粽子 Zongzi -- my breakfast

in #food8 years ago

This is a Zongzi, sold in the local market for 5CNY, and I had one for my breakfast this morning. I have never really enjoyed them before, as they are well heavy in the stomach, but these looked so inviting, so why not?

17d86b.jpg

Inside there is a serving of sticky rice, glutinous I suppose I should say, and in this case I found a few pieces of meat, some egg, and a red bean or two.

25cfc3.jpg

And there are all it's wrappings, bamboo leaves cut to shape, and then some strips of the same used to hold it all together. They are cooked by steaming, which is really rather appropriate for this site, isn't it?

34eea2.jpg

I've got into the habit of waking early, sometimes even at four o'clock. Until two weeks ago, I would then spend a couple of hours with Duolingo, going through the languages I am trying to learn, but in these last couple of weeks I have been straight away looking through my Feed ...

https://steemit.com/@richardjuckes/feed

This feed is important to me, and I try to spend some time each day deciding who to follow, and who to unfollow: I don't want too many new articles to look at so I always follow a few and unfollow a few each day. I don't want my feed too heavy, not like this Zongzi.

I don't mean to say that I didn't enjoy eating it, but I had to have a little lie down afterwards. Not something for everyday. Mostly these days I'm eating the plain steemed buns and some black sesame porridge.

In my Feed recently, and in the Feed's of other users I follow, there has of course, over the last few days, been a fair amount of discussion about the price of Steem. There has also been discussion about the future of Steemit, but I suspect that the price of Steem itself is what is cooking the later. It's a bit heavy, but I'm really rather enjoying my time here and plan to continue. My little tablet now has about half a dozen different wallets, all empty, and I also bought a small amount of Bitshares, just to see how it works. That's what this site gives me most of all: it's not just a social network, it's an opportunity to learn about cryptocurrencies. I enjoy it, but I do need to lie down once in a while to allow my head to clear.

Thanks y'all :)

Sort:  

We call 粽子 as dumpling (or rice dumpling) in Singapore. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63