On simplifying my diet - A food strategy for early retirement.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: On simplifying my diet - A food strategy for early retirement.


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

That diet looks good and healthy.

The 'Man of the Forest' plan sounds a good one. Will this be full-on Grizzly Adams?

Ideally, although I think I'd struggle with the remoteness, even in Wales.

I've got this crazy ideal-idea of just buying some land, establishing a forest garden and then building a meditation pagoda in the middle of it (open to the elements) and just sitting there in between grazing.

I'll either go crazy or become enlightened, which is probably the same thing.

The forest garden and the meditation pagoda sounds pretty idylic.

Looking forward to the next instalment...

Thanks - Although I'm holding of dreaming/ planning until I get an offer on my flat - feel a bit stuck ATM.

Good luck with the sale...

Have you got a daily/weekly budget for food? I was surprised how little I spent on food once I started cooking at home everyday (and I must get one of those travel coffee cups, that would save me ££££s). A young friend told me he spends £20 a week on food, although he treated me to a meal for my birthday and that used up three weeks food budget 😳

Hi - I spend about £30-40 on food, although I could do better. It's just about the only area where I don't try too hard to save, it's so fundamental after all!

Oh yes, that budget allows for treats as well!

Looks like it'll work. Is your £30-40 per week? It seems about right.

I did a food experiment back in October in which I lived off of $29 per week (starting from absolutely nothing) with additional 'challenges' - I actually blew past that and ate for three weeks on just two weeks budget.

£40 a week is comfortable - I'd struggle on less as I like my fruit too much. When Summer comes I clould live off less with allotment pickings.

<$30/ week is a stupendous effort!

Yeah, the average cost per day came out to $2.09

Great effort! Something for me to beat, but I won't be 'in the zone' until August/ September! By which time we might both be even gladder that Steemit is an incredibly minor part of our retirement portfolios.

Looks pretty good, lots of vegetables and salad is always good. Have you considered reducing the amount of sugar?

Hi - I did an experiment with that last year for a few days, felt much better - although stress at work is driving me to consume A LOT of sugar at the moment: yesterday I had:

  • 2 pasteries
  • 3 buscuits
  • 1 bar of chocolate (although it was 85%)
  • 1 bag licorice.

So there's defo room for improvement!

Ya man that's a huge amount of sugar! Not particularly unusual for today's world, but that seems like a big area that you could improve on if you want to. On the other hand, you only live once :-P I did eat some chocolate chip pancakes to kick off the weekend...

I did walk/ run 25Ks yesterday at least!

i think you'll easily meet your goals! you have a clear vision and that is the first step to mobilizing and manifesting any plan. Also, that broccoli looks delicious! good luck in your scaling back and renunciation. in my 20s i practiced this too ;) lol and having my own farm/gardens is such a great way to eat the way i want in abundance as i'm growing so much of it. that's another great way to save $ obviously <3

Oh, how I agree with you about the diet and identity issue. It's not necessarily a bad thing though if people recognise it in themselves. It's the militant people of all diets that get to me.
That aside, this sounds like a good plan. We do something similar, focussing on the season and what we can get cheap with loads of nutrition in it - which can be a difficult combo.
Are you baking your own bread? It's much more filling, better for you generally and doesn't take a lot of time - not to mention, especially sourdough breads are very delicious.

I do enjoy baking my own bread - although it does take me a little time as I am sans breadmaker! Will get on it more when I'm finally released from work in a couple of months!

I've never had a breadmaker - does it turn off automatically or how does it save time? It's so exciting that the date is drawing near. I look forward to seeing what you end up doing. Have you decided on where you'll be living? I remember you did a post on different options and the costs involved.

I see you have an allotment. Where do you live? We have a massive vegie patch and it's there 'just in case' i quit teaching. Mind you, we've had a stupid hot summer and I was too busy to bother watering, yet it kills me every time I buy vegies that I could grow. Next summer we'll put in wicking beds. Looking forward to winter veg so we dont have to water so much. We used to live in England and you didn't quite get the growing season we have here in south west Victoria, Australia. I love the fact we can have greens all year around. Broccoli, beetroot etc and silverbeet (chard) do well all winter. Easily pleased??? I think a good meal and homegrown food is one of life's greatest pleasures.

Hi - In Surrey atm - but Id ideally like a house with a garden when I move shortly.

Good luck!!! Following your journey!!! Surrey is lovely.

The meal looks awesome... enjoy it...

when we have a look deep into our feelings, we learn again that the healthy food is the food me like mostly... that's what I realize more and more since I'm traveling full-time..

Sounds like a decent strategy.

Food is easily the largest part of our budget, which is why we're so focused on growing our own. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93