You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kombucha Chronicles: Moldy Booch, Why it Happens and How to Deal

in #food7 years ago

How long was the interval between the last time you refreshed the tea and the first time you noticed the mold? Do you think it also may have went too long without refreshing?

Sort:  

I don't continuous brew so it wouldn't be a matter of that. If I were to go too long before harvesting that'd actually reduce the liklihood of mold. Realistically, it was probably just a combination of bad factors including weather. When I went to harvest, I found mold instead of finished tea and a healthy scoby.

Oh, well I think I have a clue to your mold. The pH is swinging too high in between brews with the batch method. You can still use the batch method and keep it low by adding back 15-25% brewed (primary ferment only of course) to the new brew...that will keep the pH nice and low!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43