You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breadventures!

in #food7 years ago

Well done! The key to making great bread is practice. My mom is a pro at it. I've only made bagels about 4 times. They were all edible, but not nearly as pretty or light as my mom's. Did your loaf taste good? That's all that matters!

Sort:  

The loaf tastes really thick and yeasty. I like it, but it's not what I would typically think of for French bread! I'll keep that in mind about practice, too. It's like an extended learning experience.

Hey that's good! There is probably a technique to getting the bread airier, but I have no idea what it is.

I think it would probably work better if I gave it less yeast and more time to rise... maybe? I'll have to experiment, but I don't mind. More bread!!

French bread is usually made using gluten flours only. Also many(most? All?) of them take more time than 1 hour.

But your bread is beautiful.

If you'd like an easy and reasonably quick bread recipe, I could give you a couple links. Let's start with https://breadcentric.com/2016/10/27/basic-kids-bread-podstawowy-chleb-dla-dzieci/ - I think it's the only quick recipe that I like do much.

Or perhaps you could would be interested in preparing a levain? I know it's more effort, but then you mix things in a bowl and leave them for 12 hours before making the dough. Not really time consuming.

Those are some good suggestions! I'll check them out before baking again. I'll also be more patient. I can see why people make leaven or give it more time now.

Let me know how it goes!


This is my second loaf. Better shape, better looks, better taste, better texture!

Looks much better. Well done!

Thank you! I'm thinking of starting some sourdough once I move later this week... we'll see!

Good idea :)
I could also recommend trying some recipe with poolish or other levain in the meantime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59