Cheesy Goodness Sandwich

in #food6 years ago

Some days, my laziness can get the better of me and I don’t feel like cooking at all (especially when it’s cooking for one). It’s convenient to just order takeout, but nah. I am not settling for a quick fix just yet. 😆

The next thing to do is, rummage the fridge. After being hit by a light bulb moment, I decide to make a sandwich.

And anything cheesy goes well with everything, right? There’s leftover cheese dipping sauce in the fridge that I made a day before to go with my potato fries. Waste not, want not. Let’s assemble this sandwich!

Instead of using the toaster or doing it over the stovetop, I prepare my sandwich using the oven. While I get the prepping done, I preheat the oven at 150°C.

Prep work in progress...

Add frozen peas into a microwave-safe bowl with a touch of water. Give it a quick blitz in the microwave for about 30 seconds or so. Add salt, pepper and onion powder to taste. Stir well and mash with a fork.

Slice and deseed a tomato. Add a pinch of salt and dried Italian herbs, stir to combine.

Spread a generous dollop of cheese sauce onto the bread, making sure it’s filled all the way to the crust (this is MANDATORY). Top with mashed peas, followed by the sliced tomato.

12 (b)_rt.jpeg

Place everything neatly on a baking tray and bake for about 10 minutes

12 (c)_rt.jpeg

Can’t resist to take a peep

12 (d)_rt.jpeg

Ready to eat!

12 (e)_rt.jpeg

Leave to bake a little longer in the oven, the residual heat will set the cheese

The bread crisps up just perfectly for me; not too charred and still soft in the centre with crusty edges. This is definitely a repeat in my kitchen, if I have any leftover cheese sauce.


Since we’re at it, this is how I made my cheese dipping sauce earlier:

Melt equal parts butter and flour in a saucepan over medium heat. Stir continuously until a paste is formed. Add milk and continue whisking until the mixture thickens.

Add grated cheddar cheese and whisk until fully melted. I used mild cheddar, but I think sharp cheddar will be more flavourful.

Add salt and pepper to taste. For colour, I add a few dashes of sweet Hungarian paprika.


Om nom nom nom…

Sort:  

Wow it looks delicious 😋😋

Tastes quite good actually. Shortcut, simplified 'pizza' sebab seorang je makan. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66