When the Husband is Sick

in #food6 years ago

This week has been relatively quiet. Most of this is due to the fact that my husband has had the flu and been out of commission since Tuesday.

Monday was a busy day around the house. We took advantage of unseasonably warm weather and worked on several projects that had needed attention. He was full of energy and zeal as we worked until night time outside.

Tuesday he went into work but called and said that he was beginning to feel ill. He came home, ate homemade chicken soup, took two nyquil, and went to bed.
chicken soup.jpg
Wednesday morning we got up at 4:15 as usual for him to get ready for work. He put on his uniform and began eating his breakfast. I could tell he wasn't feeling well at all and then he said he couldn't go in. He called his supervisor and went back to bed.

He remained in bed for the next two days. I brought him soup, crackers, water, ginger-ale, and popsicles as he watched Andromeda on Amazon Prime. I tried to come visit him in his quarantine area as often as I could to keep boredom at bay and let him know what was going on with the kids and with the other household chores.

Since he was only able to eat the chicken soup and other bland meals, I have been making myself and the kids Asian flavored meals each day. I usually have to mix in some tex-mex or American foods regularly to keep everyone happy but I have gotten a little leeway this week.

First off was some steak-fried rice. We had grilled out Monday night since the weather was nice and I had some steak leftover. I decided to make a fried rice since it would stretch out the meat and the girls and I could eat it for lunch and supper. I even had the leftovers the next morning in a type of improvised omurice dish. omurice.jpg

Yesterday I had been craving noodles so I sliced some pork loin into long strips, marinated them in a mix of soy, oyster sauce, sriracha, cooking sake, honey, and garlic powder, and let them sit while I stir fried some cabbage, onions, and carrots. I then cooked the meat and added the veggies before also adding some udon noodles I had cooked using beef bouillon cubes for added flavor. Adding all this together with another sauce made mostly the same as the marinade, I ended up with a stir-fry/udon noodle dish that was enjoyed by the girls and I for lunch and supper again.
pork noodles.jpg

Today is Friday and Hubbie is thankfully feeling much better. He has mentioned wanting pork loin biscuits today. I am glad that he is feeling well enough to ask for regular foods and will happily be making his request in a little while.

It's been too quiet in the house with him not feeling well so I will enjoy as the volume begins to rise and craziness ensues with him feeling better. I have already been shot with a nerf gun multiple times this morning. Things are definitely getting back to normal.

Sort:  

That looks so good! The colds are going around this time of year!!

Congratulations @redpandanami! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @redpandanami! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65