Peanut Butter, Oatmeal, Raisin, And Assorted Nut Cookies

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Ingredients

I am baking large batches of cookies for parties, my Husband, and my Grandkids. Because I want those I love to be healthy but also eat yummy treats I cut the sugar back. The cookies are not overwhelmingly sweet. When I went off sugar for over a year I ate some sugar laden baked goods, I think my first treat after being very strict was a chocolate chip cookie bought at a coffee shop with some really sweet hot chocolate. The cookie and hot chocolate were so sweet I almost couldn't eat them! The sugar felt almost like acid even though my mouth felt happy with the sugar. It was a very odd experience and I see how we are conditioned to eat certain foods and refuse other foods as tasting odd or even awful.

I Tripled The Recipe

  • 4.5 cups of rolled oats. I didn't use quick oats which don't take as long to cook.
  • 3 cups of all purpose flour.
  • 1.5 cups of sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of lard or butter
  • 1.5 cups of peanut butter
  • 3 eggs, which 1 egg equals 1/4 cup of buttermilk.
  • 1.5 cups of raisins
  • 1.5 cups of your favorite nuts chopped or whole per your liking.

Baking Directions

  • Preheat Oven to 350 degrees
  • Have several cookie sheets lined in parchment paper or grease them up with some lard. I don't use vegetable shortening or oil, that shit is toxic! Don't use butter to grease your baking sheets, butter burns easily at high temperatures and you will stain your cookie sheets.

I started with this recipe and ended making up my own. However I want to give credit where credit is due .

Baking Directions

I had three different kinds of nuts so once my cookie dough was finished I divided my raisins up in 3 equal parts. I like my nuts whole. My Husband bought macadamia nuts, peanuts, and pecans (his favorites), which I added to the dough once it was through blended with my other ingredients.

Mix dry ingredients together.

Cut peanut butter into the dry ingredients until the mix looks like sand, add lard and cut into the mix.

Add eggs after blending the yolks and whites together. Get your clean bare hands in there and mash everything together.

Once the mix is sticky and can be lumped together to form cookies, split the dough up into 3 parts

Add your nuts and raisins and mash into the cookie dough.

Roll the cookie dough with the palm of your hands into 2 inch sized balls and flatten with your thumb. The dough will be a little crumbly so be quick and don't let the dough dry out! If you have to leave your dough out because you don't have enough cookie sheets, cover the dough up so it won't dry out.

Once the dough is shaped you are good to go! Stick a sheet of cookies into the pre heated 350 degree oven and bake for 12 minutes.

Sell Art Online

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Cookies look healthy and delicious too.

Nice description of how to make nut cookies. You give cleverly directions and easy to prepare. I think that would be sweet one.

se ven muy ricas y provocativas

Las galletas están un poco secas y llenas de nueces y pasas. Los nietos los aman.

los niños aman las galletas yo siempre hago y ami nena le encantan! saludos

Los mejores deseos para su familia!

Wow nice food. this is great article.
Upvote Resteem

nice recipe and simply execution, awesome cookies as my favorite peanut butter is here!

When I saw this food, I got water in my mouth

ohhh i just love such quick bites, and healthy too !

Yummy! Thank you for the recipe. I will make some for me and the dogs, who will sooooooo psyched!

Another tasty food recipe from @reddust. Great effort.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30