Ham and Bean Soup

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Super Easy and Super Nutritious!

Homemade Canned Tomatoes, Ham, and Cowpeas

During The Winter After Canning Season Is Done

I can beans and leftovers on Sunday. Just one day a week I processed food for the weekly meals and this saves me hours of time and makes for a stress free dinner time when I am too tired to cook.

Celery and carrots are about ready to turn limp. A perfect ingredient to soup since you don't need crisp veggies like in salad. I always save all my vegetable leftovers that are about to turn bad for soups!

Peel and chop several large carrots into bite size pieces. Chopping them small enough to combine with other flavors in the dish.

Smash your garlic with the flat of your knife. This helps you peel the skin of the garlic and releases chemicals that will enhance the flavor of your garlic and increase chemical compounds that improve your immune system functions. Let the smashed bulbs sit for 15 minutes before processing.

Dice celery into thin slivers that are easy to eat and combine with other foods in the soup. I cut away the top of the celery and leave some leaves to chop with the stalk. Celery leaf has more flavors than the stalk. Set aside

Finely dice onion.

Pour canned tomatoes into blender and add garlic, blend until garlic is incorporated into the tomatoes.

I like to saute my veggies using lard which can stand high heat without becoming toxic. Add a teaspoon of salt and pepper to your liking. Olive oil and other vegetable oils get a little chemically twisted when frying foods. The body can't process these kinds of fat when they are cooked at high heat. Coconut oil can stand high heat as well and we need saturated fats for our electrical system and cell health. I bet you didn't know this but without fats we will die! Our ancestors knew this but we seemed to have forgotten fats are not bad!

Add your canned cowpeas, canned or cooked meat, don't drain the liquid before adding. This will be the liquid plus the tomato sauce for the body of your soup. If you want a thinner soup stock add a cup of water or any kind of vegetable or meat stock. Add your tomatoes and garlic mixture. Add your favorite spices, I like to add a little spicy curry seasoning with dried basil. Heat to a simmer and serve. The garlic taste better when cooked lightly and it's more nutritious.

One cup of Cowpeas will give you almost 100% of your daily does of Thiamin and even bigger dose of Folate. Folate is part of the B vitamin group and if we eat an abundance of natural foods it is very easy to get sufficient amounts for healthy body functions. This vitamin is common in all food sources except manufactured foods. Processing and refining foods increases storage life but destroy most of the nutrients a body needs for proper functions. The government has mandated flour and other processed foods add Folate to their products because most American's consume processed foods rather than whole foods. Thiamin is another essential b vitamin for the body and one cup of cowpeas give the body 95% of it's daily requirements. Without these 2 essential b vitamins humans experience a host of nutritional deficiencies that manifest as modern life style diseases. Check out the links I provided to the Linus Pauling Institute.

Photography Prints

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Really fresh food red i think that kind of food can improve your health and give you the power to do your things. Regards red

This food helps regulate ones blood pressure and other system functions because of the high B vitamin content.

Good red a good way to avoid pills. Red how can i do to get more visits in my blog i'm sad because i can't see more comments and likes. Regards

I don't know, I spent most of my minnow life making 4 blogs a day and chatting with as many bloggers as possible. But now steemit is growing and getting followers is becoming difficult. have you joined the PAL network on Discord? Also join people who have formed groups representing your country. They all work together to support each other. Korea is a good example of networking. If your country doesn't have a group representing it start one and add a chat room for your country on steem chat or discord steemit community. https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@manishmike10/welcome-to-p-a-l-minnow-support-and-the-discord-chat-the-key-to-my-success

Thanks red i like your ideas.

Becoming a good leader will naturally bring you followers lolol <3

I just had ham and bean soup, or like we call it fažol i suho meso. I live it, thanks for sharing.

I will look up the recipe, thank you @alktoni! I love trying new recipes from other parts of the world. In fact that idea would make a great foodie adventure blog.

fantastic recipe, i really like the use of all healthy vegetables in that soup and it's procedure is really simple and easy and literally any body can make it at home, yes winter is running and it's also great thing to cure cold, i have a question if someone don't have a ham or don't want to use ham than what is it's alternative, Stay happy and thanks for sharing such quality recipes.

Any kind of meat will suffice and you don't have to use meat, this will make a great vegetarian soup, one can use coconut oil to sauté the aromatic vegetables .... Thank you @adnanrabbani

You had me at cowpeas! I love those little things!

It must be soup time around the country, for I cooked a big batch of chicken and rice yesterday, as I had some lackluster celery and some leftover rice lurking in my fridge.

Your soup looks so marvelous, just the thought of that garlic and tomato goodness makes me want to get out of my warm bed and find something fat-filled to eat!

Yummy chicken and rice soup....I like to have soup for breakfast. I get really warmed up fast. It's getting cold out and soup is the best for warming us up...although a comfy bed with lots of heavy blankets is so nice hehehehe

Heh. I so didn't want to leave my pile of comfy blankets this morning! And as a fellow member of the enjoys-soup-for-breakfast club, I totally, totally agree with the warmed up fast part! Soup is one of my favorite foods, my friends give me a bad time because I always order soup whenever we go out to eat, lol! Hope you are staying warm!

tasty juice, past cost savings.

what juice is in it.

Tomato puree, meat stock from the canned meat, and liquid from the canned beans.

wow it sounds so good, what kind of meat mix.

Pork ham....I know muslims and other religions don't eat pork but my country eats a lot of pork!

thanks, it does not matter, the important thing we are the same to maintain our culture, nothing to blame my friend.

That's good, I am sensitive to offending some people when posting recipes that use meat. I have a lot of vegan, jewish and muslim friends.

looks Scrumptious Delicious! I accept one day Express Mail lol :)

I'd invite you over if you didn't live so far away! Thank you @smartcasual.

I do miss the changing seasons and cooler weather ~ Thanks for the recipe! Your Fresh Garden Harvest is the Better Ingredients and So Healthy...

You make art from everything, really beautiful @reddust

I feel our life is like a painting, everything is a work of art. Thank you for leaving me such a lovely message my friend.

You are welcome my dear friend @reddust

It's looking yummy but I am vegetarian.

More meat for me! lolol

Lol....:) Enjoy your delicious soup.

You can still use this recipe, just omit the meat and add some more veggies and beans <3

Yup..thanks 😊😊

and super-efficient wallet. ha ha ha

Super cheap and super dooper healthy!

and healthy body.
I like your post friend

Hey..i am hungry.i like.. soup dear.nice... post @reddust

😔😔😔😔😔🍧🍧🍧🍧

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66822.01
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66