🌱Backyard Omelette 🥚

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Growing Your Own Food and Cooking From Scratch


Backyard Spinach, Collards, Kale, Chard, and Beets

We eat a lot of greens! Dark green leafy vegetables are an essential part of a balanced diet, which feed the microbial ecosystem that live in our digestive system. Greens also provide chemicals that give us healthy skin and protect us from harmful radiation from the sun.

The denizens living in our GI track digest our food and give us the right kind of chemical balance to support our infrastructure and software. Without healthy gut bacteria animals sicken, go crazy, and die from opportunistic diseases that take advantage of a weakened immune system.

I let grass grow in between my rows because the dirt here in Oklahoma is sandy, which washes away easily. The grasses roots also help support the mbcrobial life in dirt, which is linked to our gut flora and fauna. Healthy dirt, healthy plants, healthy gut, healthy humans!

Glyphosate, pathways to modern diseases II: Celiac sprue and gluten intolerance


Easter Egger Heritage Hen Named Rag-A-Muffin

We have 6 hens, 2 Barred Rocks, 2 Sex Links, 2 Easter Eggers. Heritage chickens were bred for hardiness and either meat or egg laying abilities. Some heritage breeds are both meat and egg layers, they are called dual purpose chickens.

Before we had stores to buy our food, chickens were in everyone's backyard. If you don't wash the eggs, you can store them in a cool room for up to a month without fridgeration.

Washing eggs, besides lightly wiping away dirt and feathers, removes a natural bacteria barrier, which keeps the contents disease free, protecting the developing chick.

What does Heritage livestock mean? Our global heritage livestock and seeds are going extinct from factory farming. Causing the hungry masses to become dependent on the State and huge monster corporations and NGOs.

Backyard Spinach and Potato Farmers Omlette


Spinach Straight From The Garden

I soak my garden greens in water with a tablespoon of salt for 15 minutes. The salt kills bugs and soaking loosens up the dirt. I rinse three times to make sure the greens are completely cleaned.

I've added my greens to sautéed onions and diced steak from last nights dinner. I add the Spinach last because it takes just a little heat to cook.


Fresh Eggs Layed By My Hens

Fresh home grown eggs have a different look and taste when compared to factory farmed eggs. Backyard chickens aren't crammed into little cages, fed food they cannot digest, given antibiotic because their food and living conditions make them sick.

With factory farmed eggs you get light yellow yolks plus all the chemicals in the chickens food and medicine. Free range chickens lay eggs with bright colored yolks and a strong egg taste, minus the chemicals and antibiotics, which kill of the chickens and our gut flora and fauna.

Crack open 3 eggs for each person being served. Blend yolk and whites until smooth set aside


Sautéed Steak and Onions

A little trick I use to make stainless steel pans nonstick. Heat up your stainless steel pan until hot enough to cause a water droplet to pop. Add fat that takes high heat like coconut oil or lard. Heating the pan and then adding fat to the hot metal changes the structure of the metal, giving it a non stick surface.

lorem-ipsumccd2a.jpg

Farmers Omelette Covered With Cheddar Cheese

Season with salt, pepper and your choice of seasonings.

I cook on medium high gas.

Once the steak and onions have been sautéed, the onions will look translucent, add your left over veggies, noodles, or potatoes. I used potatoes, add your spinach. Once spinach wilts add your beaten eggs.

Stir all the ingredients up and let sit. Once every few minutes use a spoon to lift cooked egg mix so that the uncooked mix drains to the bottom. Once the mix is firm, five minutes or more, turn off heat.

Add your cheese and place a lid on your pan. Let the mix sit for 5 minutes and serve.

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

looks delicious :) it makes me want to eat more food. Thank you for sharing

Thank you @businesswri, this is food that will give you steady energy through the day.

Your garden is looking great! And a greens-based omelette is hard to beat, that's for sure! It's nice that you have those chickens! I hope your summer stays on the cool side!

Here in Oklahoma there will be heat and humidity lol, it's coming. Thank you @haphazard-hstead

what gorgeous meals and beautiful garden, I love seeing this!

Thank you, gardening in a suburban back yard in Oklahoma has been very different and a challenge compared to my gardens in Oregon. I had 2 acres to work with back home.

I'm right there with you reddust. Love your post. I live for this stuff. Check out my posts I think you'll enjoy. I'm following you!!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 03. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $16.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 03 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Great, now I'm just hungry! Off to the kitchen :) ...

nice recipe, i like your post

Looks very delicious @reddust.

The dish is filling, I don't feel like eating until around 4pm....I eat breakfast around 11am. I eat two meals a day and a light snack of fruit in between meals. I don't avoid grains either, I eat whole organic grains and breads.

It's good for your health.
:)

Yum, that looks delicious! I might just make an omelette for breakfast after having read your post.

Yummy! Eggs help me sleep too, thanks for stopping by @runaway-psyche🥚

mom i want ,...
cheese topping

:p

Why haven't you come home? You've been out all night haven't you? I saved some omelette for you my Son from another Mother🙏

awww so sweet ,
next month i will come for you mom!! 🙏

I'll cook for you and give you painting lessons😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64