My first attempt at dry aging ribeye at home.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I first became interested in dry aging meat when I saw pieces of dry aged beef in a deli's meatcase. My first thought was, "Who would want to eat something that looks like that?" But after buying and eating a dry aged steak from our local supermarket, I was convinced that this was the way to go. My first lesson was that the dry edges are cut away and disposed of, thus revealing a much redder, more marbelized piece of beef. The result, a more flavorful, tender, succulent steak!

The next step was figuring out how I could do this at home without ruining the meat. After watching dozens of videos online, I discovered that I could order specially made dry aging bags from Germany. So I ordered the bags and a vacuum sealer, and waited with anticipation for their arrival. The day before they were due to arrive, I purchased a 1.5 kilo piece of ribeye. Not too big in case I managed to ruin it, and not too small so that the entire piece would dry out.

My original plan was to let it age for 28 days, but curiosity (and hunger) got the best of me, so I took it out after only 17 days.

After cutting away the dry bits, I was left with two 8 ounce (+/-) ribeyes. 

I sprinkled just salt, black pepper and a tiny bit of garlic powder on both sides, and let the meat rest at room temperature 30 minutes before reverse searing them on my Kamado Joe.

The end result, the best steak that I have ever had (in my humble opinion)! More flavorful and succulent, and the fat just melted in your mouth! I'm definitely going to do this again in the future. Maybe I'll even make it to the full 28 days next time!




Sort:  

Yes it was! Looking forward to trying it again!

Congratulations @rebelvike! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

Thanks, followed you back.

Congratulations @rebelvike! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rebelvike! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43