Sweet Pepper Hummus with Homemade TahinisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food8 years ago

In my kitchen, I general employ the practice of cooking once and eating 3 or 4 times from the original food initiative.

Yesterday was no exception. I cooked a roast of beef in my slow cooker and I grilled lots of vegetables including a selection of sweet peppers. I let the sweet peppers chill in my refrigerator overnight. This morning, I used them to make sweet pepper hummus, a fantastic dip that's dairy-free and gluten-free.

Tools Needed:

  1. a food processor;
  2. a fine mesh strainer;
  3. a spatula;
  4. a spoon;
  5. a frying pan;
  6. a selection of measuring cups and spoons;
  7. and a serving container for the finished dip.

Ingredients:

1 540 ml can of chick peas, well drained

1/4 cup of sesame seeds

1/8 cup of lemon juice

4 tbsp of extra light olive oil

2 grilled or roasted red peppers

1 clove of minced garlic

1/2 tsp of cumin

1/2 tsp of paprika

1/4 tsp of Cayenne pepper 

1/4 tsp, plus a pinch of pink Himalayan salt

Directions:

Start by making Tahini. I toasted my sesame seeds in a frying pan on my stove top. This lets you stir them and watch them. They can burn really quickly and you want them to be gently toasted, so remove them from the heat as soon as they start to turn brown.

Toasting sesame seeds usually only takes 2-3 minutes. Swirl them in the pan to keep them gently moving.

Let the seeds cool for 5 minutes and then add them to a food processor with 2 tbsp of olive oil and a pinch of salt.

Blend the seeds until the mixture is smooth and creamy.

(This is Tahini.)

Next, Add chick peas, lemon juice, tahini, olive oil and minced garlic to a food processor and blend. Stop the processor after a minute and scrape down the sides.

Rinse your chickpeas really well.

The juice of one lemon or 1/8th of a cup.

Blend well and remember to stop and scrape the sides of the bowl down so that the mixture will blend evenly.

Add sweet red peppers, cumin, paprika, salt and Cayenne pepper to the mixture and blend again. You will have to stop the processor and scrape down the sides of the bowl 2 or 3 times during this process.

Blend until the entire mixture is smooth.

Pour the dip into a serving dish and refrigerate until ready to eat.

A closer look.

The dip will last for 7 days refrigerated. This recipe makes 2 cups of dip. 

It's great served with raw vegetables, crackers, or it can be used as a salad topping.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~Rebecca Ryan

Sort:  

UV and RS already for you, I am not waiting til later for curation rewards for you and several others I like!

You may not believe this, but I decided this week to try to figure out how to make my own, of this stuff!!! I have always bought the Costco kind but want my own, and want it spicy LOL.

Thanks Barry! Well, now you have a step by step guide. lol
Just add spice or roast 1 or 2 hot peppers along with the sweet peppers. :)

I dump in black pepper and my spicy homegrown hot pepper- dust I made into it and away I go! This was really good timing for me, I am loving having you on my list of friends!

Yes, you've got it. The chickpea tahini mix is fairly bland, so you just spice it to whatever you like.
I'm happy to help. :)

I was heartened to read here also that you also employ the cook once / eat 3-4x mindset! Very good for saving tons of time, hydro, etc. #Stewardship

I have been trying to juggle all the stuff here today for the Free Ross stuff, watch and listen to it and do housework lol, busier than I figured.

Thanks again for the support

You're welcome.

Looks lovely, I love hummus :)

I am going to make this tonight!

Oh good @reddust! Just add more spices to match your taste.

Yeah, like cyan pepper...;-)

I certainly enjoy hummus, but you had me at pepper.

Hahaha! They were beautiful. I grilled extra when I made my grilled vegetable sliders for the culinary challenge. Tonight, I'm going to take the left-over hummus (because my recipe makes a huge batch) and turn it into savoury grain-free shortbread...cook once eat thrice use to be my motto. Now it's cook once eat and blog about it thrice. LOL

Looks so good, thanks for another great post. They usually make me hungry when I'm working away on the computer at stories, etc . ( :

Thank you for taking a minute to comment @ddschteinn!
I really appreciate it and I'm happy to learn that you've been following along. :)

I went to your blog to see your latest post but I don't see one lately, so I went thru the search feature like I do daily to find my people on here, and I found an old profile you had with an hour long documentary on you so I am settling in now to watch this: I hope you have a good nite

https://steemit.com/health/@stirthepotcs/rebecca-s-story-by-rebecca-ryan

I hope you enjoy it. It was one of the first things I posted the day I started on Steemit...before I really knew how the platform worked. I don't think anyone saw it. It's too long for Steemit.

I'm about half way thru- I literally stopped to send it to more than one person by PM that I know it will help. Like, I am positive it will and I am nowhere done - I just checked here quickly for msgs and boom there you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52