You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grain-free, Paleo-Friendly, Zucchini Carrot Bread

in #food7 years ago

Some of them are truely brutes...in fact this one was the smallest that my friend had, the day I purchased it and I purposely bought it so that I could use it up and not waste any of it.
Yes, taken completely out of commission for 3 days...I could move without intense pain and severe muscle spasms. It was completely my fault. I should've just stepped on the vines and bent properly to lift it.
I find when I bake with coconut flour, the end result is always better if I don't overwork the batter and if I use enough liquid. Coconut flour is like a magnet for liquid. Generally you need twice as much liquid compared to grain flour. It's rare that I use coconut flour on its own, unless I'm using wetter ingredients, like in this application. Coconut flour seems to do better mixed with other grain-free flours and once baked, it will taste better if you let it cool completely. As you can see, I have a love-hate thing on the go with coconut flour. LOL!

Sort:  

The taste that your food gets with coconut flour is really unique btw! I have really not used it a lot in the past, as coconut flour is not so famous here.

It requires some skill to master. It doesn't like to be overworked and it is exceptionally dry. This means lots of additional moisture is required. In most cases, I have found that baking recipes do better with a mix of grain-free flours. So, I am often blending almond, walnut and mung bean flours with coconut flour unless I'm using really wet ingredients like fruit or squash where you require absorption of the additional liquids while baking. I'm learning based on a trial and error process. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44