Baked Brie With Cranberry Apple Chutney And Crumbled Pecans

in #food7 years ago (edited)

(

I was gifted this cute little "brie baker" by my Mother for Christmas.

Today (being the first day of the New Year) meant that I got started a little later than normal due to being up until the wee hours of morning...celebrating. (Yeah, I'm one of those people who likes to let her hair down every once in awhile.)

As a result, I skipped breakfast and went straight to lunch at a good friend's house.

I decided the first day of the new year was as good an excuse as any to give my new brie baker a whirl.

Brie Is A Soft Creamy Cheese That Is Typical Sold in Rounds Of Different Sizes

This specialty cheese is often made with unpasteurized cow's milk (in France) in it's true form. However (in North America) we have rules around how long unpasteurized milk must cure before it can be imported and sold. 60 days is the length of time required to meet the laws, but this produces a brie that is over-ripened and not edible.

In Canada, our brie would not be considered authentic French brie because it isn't made with raw milk. It's been made with pasteurized milk, pasteurized cream and the addition of a bacterial culture, instead.

At any rate, the brie that I can buy is covered in a white papery rind which I like to cut off and discard.

This rind is actually a mold that gets sprayed on to the cheese. Today I learned (thanks to Google) that this mold is called penicillium candidum. It's completely edible and it's the same stuff that's also sprayed onto some Italian salamis, Triple Creme cheeses and Camembert.

To Make a Brie Bake You'll Need The Following Ingredients:

200 grams (7 oz) round of brie cheese
125 grams (4.5 oz) of cranberry apple chutney (or the fruit jelly of your choice)
1/4 cup of roughly chopped pecans.

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the round of brie in the centre of the brie baker. (You don't need to oil the baker in advance.)

Top the brie with all of the chutney or the fruit jelly of your choice.

Top this with the pecan pieces.

Cover the brie baker with its lid and bake for 20 minutes or until the round of brie is completely melted and bubbling around the edges.

Let cool slightly and serve with your favourite crackers or sliced pears.

Enjoy!

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...food always seems to taste better when it's shared.

~ Rebecca Ryan ;)

Sort:  

Hello @rebeccaryan, my husband @bluelightbandit has spoken highly and also very frequently of you. From the looks of your posts, I can see one reason why he is so fond of you; It looks like you know your way around the kitchen pretty well! I love to cook and bake as well so I really look forward to seeing all of your recipes!

Hi! Nice to meet you @carolina-girl! Welcome to Steemit and welcome to my blog. My husband's name is @knarly327. He typically doesn't blog, but he does curate, so we'll both do our best to help you get yourself established. Can't wait to get to know you a little better. ;)

Thank you so much, it is very nice of you both! I have a feeling that I will be like your husband and not post very much on here. Well, at least not as much as Danny does haha. My job takes up much of my time so there's not too much to spare. Although, I think I would like to post photographs sometimes or maybe some of my cooking. Danny mentioned a possible thing that I could blog about that is quite popular but I can't remember the tag he told me to use. He told me when I go walking or running to take pictures of the area and write about either the experience, area or both.

Wow, it's going to be a long day today, not much sleep last night. Danny installed the steem app on my phone but to be honest, it looks a lot different than on my computer so I don't know how much I will get to use it today. But regardless, it was very nice to meet you and I look forward to seeing you around on here!

Hahaha! Again, welcome to the world of Steemit. It has a way of keeping you up until the wee hours of the morning at both ends of the clock (late nights and early mornings.) I like to share food posts and recipes. Part of that is just saving my recipes so that I'll have a back-up for my memory. LOL!
Yes, @bluelightbandit is correct. The tag you want to use for this is called #walkwithme.
Just show us what you see when you are out and about. It's a great way to show the world, your corner of the globle. I have the app for my phone, but never use it. :)

@carolina-girl....we have usernames on here for a reason. Don't make me have to put you in timeout. 😒

Go nice and easy while your @carolina-girl is learning, @bluelightbandit. She'll have us both and I'm sure I can speak for @francisk too, in that we will all answers and help where ever we can. :)

Thank you Rebecca. You have shown to me that some people like to cook and have some of the good food we all like to eat.
Living out of a can can be discouraging at times.
Nothing exciting about that.
Few people, men or women. know or want to cook and prepare food as you have shown to us over the many month. I just look and wish.
Same as your weed patch. Just look and wish.
Sure. I could use your recipe and instructions and do it all myself.
But, will I?
Ha ha

Francis

Francis, this is the thing...we all have different interests and hobbies. Cooking, gardening and handling exotic birds happen to be a few of mine.
Being a Steward of the land is one of yours. I like to read about your wood management escapades, but will I ever fell a thorn tree or save a young walnut tree...probably not.
If I ever have to, I'm going straight to your blog to review, just what to do.
When I visit, we will bake brie and toast the occasion with a little chardonnay.
It'll be "Easy like Sunday Morning".


(How could I not? LOL!)

I hear you. And I will raise the stakes here a notch. Ha
Just kidding.


Now you know that I am a hopeless romantic. That is all I know.
Love songs.
And Key Largo is not that far from where I live.
Hmmmm It has been a long time since we have been there.
On the way to Key West if my memory serves me right.

Francis

Hahaha! Ok, you win!
We have good friends who have been spending the winter in Largo for the last 15 years or so...we spent a week with them a few years back and we had a really good time.
Beautiful sunsets and palms.
Rebecca

Did you take the rind off? I've never taken the rind of brie and camabert before eating it. But when it's baked, it does all run out and leave the rind "empty". Though it may not in the handy little baker.

Hi @kiwideb! Thanks for your comment.
I don't typically eat brie very often and I have discovered that I don't really enjoy the rind. I made the decision to remove it before baking it so no one would struggle using it as a spreadable topping. The little brie baker worked like a charm to keep everything hot and contained. (Anyone could use a small casserole dish and achieve the same thing.) Cleaning it up was a breeze.

You gave us marvelous gift today now with greatest steem news. Steem price passed over $5 before some time. Celebration news @rebeccaryan.

You've nicely introduce these food with ingredients and instructions. How about tasty. I think it has nice choice. Thanks for the recipe.

Happy & profitable new year to you!!!!

It's fantastic @madushanka! I am happy to be on this ride to the top with All of you.
You can never go wrong with simple, but delicious food ...along with good company.
Here's to a Happy & Profitable New Year to you too!
Cheers, Rebecca

Wow...another yammy yammy post by Rebecca mam...
Wel done and perfect work my dear friend...
Actualy...I can always learn something with ur every posts...
Good luck dear...

Thank you for taking a look and commenting @dini1!
I try to share things that are unique and different.

it seems quite healthy and enriched with nutrient, taste a delicious as you escaped breakfast to lunch, you were hungry too, enjoy your meal with fantastic recipe.

Thank you @sheikh27! It's a fairly rich treat that is meant to be shared like an appetizer and paired with other offerings. It's a greatly little dish. ;)

Thank you for this recipe
Quick preparation
Its components look a lot inexpensive
All I can do at home
Thank you for more creativity in the New Year

It is a relatively easy appetizer to make and it looks visually appealing. Thanks for your comment @klasanaj!

Interesting pastries and with the addition of cheese always turns out very tasty! Unfortunately we do not have such baking, but there are cheese rolls.

Thanks Rebecca for the excellent recipe!

Oh those look delectable @serkagan! Thanks for sharing the photo of the cheese rolls. ;)

Yum! I SO wish were allowed raw milk cheeses here in N America. We can have some aged raw options but not the soft cheeses.

I rarely eat cheese anymore so when I do, I like it to be full of flavour and creamy. If I'm going to do it, give me the best you've got. (It's an expensive attitude. ) LOL!

Looks tasty with apple chutney. Nice description here.
Up-Voted & Re-Steemed.

It turned out amazing well @kingsberry! Thanks for commenting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49