A Greek-Inspired Frittata Made With Herb Encrusted Goat Cheese and Kalamata Olives

in #food7 years ago

                      


A frittata is an Italian fried egg dish. I baked it, in a 9 inch by 9 inch square casserole dish in an oven set to 350 degrees F for 35 minutes. It's make a wonderful addition to any brunch and offers visual appeal. It's also delicious hot or cold, which makes it very versatile.

The Ingredients:

  • 12 eggs
  • 12 Kalamata olives sliced
  • 9 1/4 inch slices of fresh tomato
  • 1/3 cup + 1/4 cup of water-buffalo milk (18% cream or a high fat milk of your choice)
  • 2 cups of raw spinach leaves
  • 2 tbsp of ghee (or olive oil to oil the skillet with when you wilt the spinach)
  • 2 tbsp of crumbled herb and garlic goat cheese
  • 1 tsp of coconut oil (to oil the casserole dish with)
  • freshly ground pink Himalayan salt and pepper to taste

The Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Heat a medium size skillet with olive oil or ghee and wilt the spinach. Stir continually while you cook the spinach leaves. This will take approximately 3 minutes and the spinach will  condense down to approximately 1/2 a cup in total volume after it is cooked.

Oil a 9 inch by 9 inch casserole dish, making sure to coat the sides and the bottom of the dish really well.

Add the eggs and 1/3 cup of milk to a blender. Blend until the egg and milk mixture is well beaten.

Pour the mixture into the casserole dish.

Add the cooked spinach and 1/4 cup of milk to the blender and blend well.

Pour the spinach mixture in a swirl pattern on top of the egg mixture.

Crumble the goat cheese evenly on top of the egg mixture. (Most of the cheese will sink.)

Set 9 tomato slices evenly on top of the egg mixture.

Sprinkle the olive slices evenly on top of the egg mixture.

To finish, sprinkle salt and pepper over top of everything.

This Is What The Casserole Dish Should Look Like Before You Bake It

                      

Notice the swirls of spinach, a little goat cheese and some of the olive slices, sitting on top of the beaten egg mixture. Don't worry if some of it sinks. It will be a lovely presentation once it's finished baking in approximately 35 minutes.

Bake at 350 degrees F, for 35 minutes.

                       

Cut this Frittata into 9 equal pieces and serve it with other brunch offerings like a selection of salads, fried potatoes, sausage, and muffins with homemade jam.

                      


I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...some of the best meals are made with simple ingredients. ;)

~ Rebecca Ryan



Sort:  

Rebecca Rebecca
Oh my Queen of Steemit. You are killing me. I have been trying to lose some weight and you just blew it for me. Ha

Oh, I must be getting forgetful. I am not being served.
How sad. Oh well. Better for me to keep some tons of weight off.
Ha ha.
But, oh how delicious it looked. If only I had a cook.

Well Francis. I just showed you how to prepare it and cook it.
Are you helpless Francis???
Uhhhhh You had to ask? Ha ha

Francis

Hi Francis! This is fairly low carb and if you actually needed to lose weight, this would work...as long as you didn't eat any toast with it. It's all about the sugar load. Traditionally made bread made with grain flour converts to a lot of sugar and packs weight onto most people really quickly. ;)

The appetizer looks appetizing
Easy recipe preparation
I will be surprised by my girlfriend someday
You say you only know to cook eggs with tomatoes or cook cedar

It is very appealing @klasanaj!
I do hope you get to try it sometime. ;)

Recipe is very healthy .... I never heard about this dish , but looks very tasty...

It is simple, quick and looks nice on a plate, too. Thanks for your comment @kartiksingh!

❤O peace on these special foods I have loved this much appetite for health and wellness

Thank you very much for having a look and commenting @faissalachahid!
I'm glad you liked it.

This the pleasure of❤❤

Oh, yes, my friend, this Italian omelette is delicious and delicious, because the combination of butter and olive oil makes the fritata satin-juicy. Also the addition of fragrant greens adds a divine flavor. Thanks Rebecca for a great recipe!

You are very welcome @serkagan! Some day I do hope we can dine at the same table. ;)

Excellent, Rebecca and I'm sure we will have something to talk about :)

Wow...super delicious food recipe. You gave nice instructions with ingredients step by step how to make it. Thanks @rebeccaryan.

Thank you very much @dragonking!
I hope you try it one day. ;)

Delicious dishes, you are a skilled cook. I wish I had been on a plate of these delicious dishes .
Thanks for giving us all this wonderful recipe.

Thank you for the kind words and the fun gif @elmarnis!

just looking delicious........////////////

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83