40% of Bee Colonies Dead Last Year

in #food7 years ago (edited)

honey bee 2 steemit.jpg

Bee photo snapped by @rebeccabe
Lincoln, Nebraska bee

This is the first bee in my neighborhood this year.
Max the dog walks me most mornings and we take photos.

DECLINE IN HONEYBEES
This is worth sharing with you because the US already has the rusty patch bumblebee on the endangered list. They were once common in Nebraska.

The USDA reports there was a 40% decline in honeybee colonies last year. There is no time to go into the possible causes. Instead what we can do to help the honeybees. Put out and water and plant flowers.

WATERING BEES
A one minute video link from You Tube “Watering Bees”


The main point is to make sure there is something for the honeybee to float on so they can get out of the bucket.

PLANTING FLOWERS
Gardeners can help by planting flowers that bees love. Choose plants of different heights, including flowering trees and shrubs. In other words, you want a range of flower shapes and sizes.

honey photo steemit.jpg
Photo of honey by @rebeccabe

THE TASTE OF HONEY

If you ever taste fresh honey that is all you will want. This honey is from the our neighbor after visiting his father’s bee farm. If for no other reason let’s save the bees for the taste of honey.

My husband and I are thinking of taking a Bee Keeping class together. I will post updates.
Be sure and remember @rebeccabe

not sure what I should have put this under

Sort:  

A lot of people don't realize how important bees are to mankind. Our crops being sprayed with pesticides are killing off the population in massive numbers. I pour beeswax candles for a living and the candles alone are 100% better then store bought parafine candles. I also know a bee keeper and buy from him as much as possible. I have been buying raw honey for a little over 3 years to put into coffee. I used to have a dislike for bees but now I have a growing appreciation for everything honey bees. thanks for the share. followed.

thank you Daniel for being a part of this comment section as this is something close to my heart. :)

in the future, some animals will be found only in museums....highly insightful, resteemed!

Bees wont without them humans will die.

you are speaking hypothetically of course...it's all based on scientific predictions

There is not enough man power to hand pollinate corn for the population an that's just corn.

Chinese farmers are already hand pollinating peach trees because their bee populations are so threatened from an insecticide free for all. Very sad.

Yes they are bees are the only ones that naturally do it besides wind helping a little bit.

Thanks for resteeming.. so sad to thing the beautiful bees could ever be gone.. I never thought about the museums.. wow

We are in the process of planning pollinator areas of wildflowers in our yard to help the cause. The rapid decline of bee populations has reached a frightening tipping point. I hope it's not too late. This is the first time in over 80 years that the US has had to import bees.

Even what we need to do to help the bees is beautiful (thinking of the flowers).. please call my attention if you post a photo of your wild flowers... I was not aware the US had to import bees... thanks for being part of the solution

Oh my. I tasted real honey and I was HOOKED.

What they sell here, in bottles, is so different.

As to Bee Keeping, glad you and your husband are planning for one.

Yes some of the bottled honey has sugar water in it.. I think we would enjoy doing that together .. it all depends on his schedule. My husband already knows some about bees.. however the classes really teach a lot. Thanks for your comment.. you are right real honey is sooo good.

Beautiful pictures , I love bees and the work they do!

Thanks for the compliment on the photos.. my phone is taking great shots.. The bees really do work hard.

Yes amazing things these iPhones, most of my pictures I take with it as well.

The Samsung Galaxy 6 is what I use to snap photos. We are thinking of buying a real camera again. LOL There are so many choices. Thanks for commenting.

My wife has a Canon 550D for the fancy shots but I find that when you see something you do not have it with you so then out comes the iPhone

We have been thinking of getting a new camera

I am making a bee watering hole right now! Great idea. I love posts like this one! Thank you for sharing

Take a photo of it and tag me if you can.. my husband says he is going to make us one.

temporarily, I used a large bowl with a floating piece of cedar with holes in it...tomorrow, I will grab a proper bucket and get the saw out. I will take a pic for you @rebeccabe !

sounds like you are a person of action :)

my husband calls it "hyper!"

My casual observations around my yard have been disappointing. Even with an over abundance of dandelions I'm not finding any bees. :(

Oh no I hope they do show up maybe they'll come later

Bees need all the help they can get, that's for sure! And raw honey is so wonderful!

Just listening to a TedTalk right now and reading this too has made me want to make a watering hole for the bees. Right now I'm renting my place and don't have access to a yard/garden. This makes me sad as I want to help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76