Marmite - love it or hate it.

in #food6 years ago

My dream present has arrived from overseas, after a long journey on what I imagine to be a huge cargoship fighting the elements to reach me.
But really, it just came for UK: A jar of Marmite!

Wtf is Marmite?

I mean this begs the questions cause most people who are not her Majesty's subjects have no clue. Yeasty something with the consistency of hard jelly and the color of putrefied mud. Healthy and tasty, say some.

I did some research and ended on a good forum discussing what you can do with it. Very very good suggestions:

Christina here takes a pretty aggressive stand. I imagine the mother of a friend of mine who kindly brought it to me won't be very happy being bitch-slapped. But at this point, I didn't even open the jar yet so I don't feel it's called for so I move on to more peaceful advice...

Oh, so that was the trick! Gagging has never been a particularly keen hobby of mine. But if one must, one will...

I eventually reached the very fun territory of people trying it for the first:

You see these faces?
That's the kind of thing that makes me want to try it even more.

Somehow the day passed without me opening the jar though. What a beautiful label though. Nice branding.
Can't wait to try it.

Have you?

Sort:  

I love Marmite! Let us know what you think when you try it. Start with a very small amount - it is a concentrated flavor compound.

If you don't hate it, I will share my favorite recipe.

Posted using Partiko Android

You asked for it, so here it is - just in time for Food Fight Friday. Maybe @jlsplatts will see it. #fff

The Professor's Breakfast - World's Best Egg Sandwich

Heavily butter two pieces of dense whole grain bread. Grill, butter side down, until the bread starts to brown then set aside to cool. Spread a thin layer of Marmite on buttered side of one slice and a thick layer of tomato paste on the buttered side of other slice. Fry an egg "over well" and slip it on top of the tomato paste. Grind a lot of fresh pepper on your egg and press The World's Best Egg Sandwich together.

Enjoy!

Posted using Partiko Android

Get a post together about it and post it up with that #FFF tag. Come join the coolest kitchen on the Blockchain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72