Creamed Mushrooms

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Before I start, this is my first recipe post here, so I've got a couple of notes to start with.

One of my goals for this year was to cook at least one thing from each of my 30+ cookbooks. I'm making reasonably steady progress on this, but am definitely behind schedule on that. Having started writing here, hopefully I'll catch back up.

I don't intend on directly copying any recipe from any of the books, and will refer to the book for any that are based on things from books, like this one. I also intend on making comments about how difficult it was to make, what I think worked and what didn't, and what I think of the dish which will likely be related to if I think I'll ever cook it again.

So, without further discussion I give you my take on this recipe

Creamed Mushrooms

Fish and Creamed Mushrooms.jpg

Ingredients

Ingredients.jpg

25 grams Butter
1 tablespoon Oil
2 teaspoons Garlic, crushed
1/2 Brown Onion, finely chopped (not pictured)
225 grams Mushrooms, quartered
1/2 Lemon, juiced
1/4 cup Cream
6 drops Hot Sauce
1 tablespoon Basil, leaves chopped
1 tablespoon Chives, chopped

Method

Oil and Butter.jpg
Put a frypan onto a medium heat and add the butter and oil.

Onion and Garlic.jpg
When the butter has completely melted, swirl the pan to mix the liquids and add garlic and onion to the pan.

Cooked Onion and Garlic.jpg
Cook this for about 5 minutes on low to medium heat.

Quartered Mushrooms.jpg
Quarter and add the mushrooms, stir well.

Herbs Added.jpg
Cook for about 4 minutes on low to medium heat. Add the basil and chives.

Cream Added.jpg
Cook, while stirring for 1-2 minutes. Add lemon juice, stir, and then add the cream and hot sauce to the pan.

Prevent Boiling.jpg
Stir and cook for 2 minutes, adjusting heat to prevent it from boiling. I may not have managed to prevent simmering from happening.

Fish and Creamed Mushrooms.jpg
Serve and enjoy.

Thoughts

Recipe was adapted from a recipe in "Easy Vegetarian" from Paragon Books. ISBN 978-1-4075-1869-5.
As listed this recipe makes 2 serves of the size you can see in the picture.
I used too large an onion, so should probably have only used 1/3 instead of 1/2 of it.
Some of the larger pieces of mushroom could have done with a bit more pan time, but the smaller ones were perfect, so depending on how you like your mushrooms, adjust the cooking time for the mushrooms before you add the cream to cook more or less.
My hot sauce (Hot Sauce from Hell: Devil's Revenge) is quite hot. 6 drops gave this a nice subtle heat to me. As with most spicy things, adjust for your own heat tolerances. Feel free to leave it out, as it was one of the things I added to the base recipe.
As you can see in the picture of the ingredients, my herbs had seen better days. The basil was nicely dried but the chives were a little limp. They worked okay, but fresh would have been better.

As a side dish, this worked pretty well. I'll almost certainly make it again, with the adjustment to the onion balance and fresh herbs.

Thanks for reading and hopefully you enjoy this. Suggestions on how to improve are always appreciated.

upgoats-ratticus.png

Sort:  

Resteemed, with a big upvote!

Love it!

Go Team Australia!

Thanks very much, and love the old Chappell stand Aussie cheer!

Yummy😆😆

Thank you for your loyalty and your upvote! UP-VOTED!!

This looks awesome! The dish looks great!

and it was very tasty. I expect to be having it again at some point in the not too distant future, modified for whatever non-core ingredients that I've currently got to use up

hi, Ilive inMyanmar Country.
Please, follow and vote me.

It looks tasty :) I should also try this vegetarian recipe!

Looks fantastic! My mouth watered T.T

Congratulations @ratticus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post. You got my upvote :D

Can almost smell that cooking garlic and onion, one of my favourite smells XD That looks really good, and we have a mushroom kit going nuts outside atm, might have to give this one a go (though only three people in the house will willingly eat it, more for us!).

I may have put the sig too high o_O

Maybe put the price per serve if you can squeeze that in somewhere sensibly?

I'm definitely going to give this a try, Thank you!

This looks amazing, I'm practically drooling! Could totally see adding some chicken breast to make it a main dish! Thank you for sharing :)

Definitely would go nicely with chicken. Was good reheated the next day as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59236.61
ETH 2600.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42