Cooking for others

in #food7 years ago

Over the weekend I finally landed an AirTasker cooking task, which was simple, but reminded me how much I like cooking for others, even when it's not really creative things. I also like getting paid to cook food.

The task was to prepare 11 serves of 3 dishes which the client named: Chicken Dinner, Kangaroo Meatballs, and Turkey Mince.

All I was given was a list of the ingredients on a per serve basis, and a vague description of how he liked them cooked.

The Ingredients Lists

Kangaroo Meatballs (per serve)

5 meatballs
12 ml Olive Oil
150 grams Cucumber

Chicken Dinner (per serve)

180 grams Marinated Chicken
80 grams Broccoli
80 grams Cauliflower
12 grams Coconut Oil

Turkey Mince (per serve)

120 grams Mince
10 grams Parmesan Cheese
1/3 packet Gravy
150 grams Green Beans
3 ml Olive Oil

Part of my task was to actually translate that into some kind of actual recipe also, which in collaboration with the client we came up with the following recipes

Kangaroo Meatballs

  • Evenly space meatballs onto an oven tray and bake for 10 - 12 minutes at 200 C.
  • Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a frying pan.
  • Transfer the meatballs to the frying pan, and toss through the oil.
  • Fry for 1 minute before turning and frying for another minute.
  • Serve with sliced cucumber

Chicken Dinner

  • Steam 80g Broccoli and 80g Cauliflower per serve
  • Melt 12g Coconut Oil per serve in a frying pan
  • Cook 180g marinated chicken pieces in frying pan until cooked.

Turkey Mince

  • Heat some oil in a pan
  • Add the mince, and break it up.
  • Sprinkle over 1 teaspoon Turmeric
  • Mix well, and continue to break up the mince until it is browned
  • Pour over packet mix gravy and add trimmed beans.
  • Cover and simmer until beans are softened.
  • Sprinkle over Parmesan Cheese and mix through.

It was quite a simple and fun cook, which only took me a couple of hours to complete. I'm hoping that in the future I'll be able to do more of these orders, and I'm open to doing more cooking for anyone else if they're needing food cooked for them to free up some time, or just to help them eat better. If you're interested, leave a comment or send me a PM over on discord.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

That's a lot of meat! Cooking for others can sometimes be a chore to be honest, LOL... Do it long enough, it will be.

Yeah, I'd be having more veg to balance out the meals myself, but that's the order and he's the one running a gym, so it can't be too bad for him

Ahhh fuel for muscle..

That strange thing that some people do.

Did you have to buy the ingredients? Or did your client give it to you?

For this one, they were provided (he delivered them to me). If I have to purchase them, I charge a bit for the shopping time, which I work out on a case by case basis.

Wow that's awesome I never even thought about people using Air Tasker as a way to get a meal cooked but I guess it goes to show you can truly use Air Tasker for anything.

Was the customer happy with the meals and did they pay you enough that it was worth it?

I really enjoy cooking for others too so would happily do it for free I think LOL (in the beginning anyway...)

I got $51 after the AT fees, but literally all I did was cook the food, serve it into containers, and deliver it to him. I was happy with the payment, but more happy that it's likely to be an ongoing task outside of AT, so will be $60-70, probably every week or 2. For the ~3 hours of my time, I'm reasonably happy with that amount of profit. (he'd delivered the ingredients to me the day before)

The main thing is he's the manager of a business with 100+ clients that may be interested in the service, especially if he's happy with what I made him. As yet I don't know, as I haven't heard from him since the payment was authorised (which technically is hearing from AT, but anyway...)

Oh wow, that's a huge deal if you can get this going for 100+ clients. You're going to need another set of hands haha.

I didn't know he delivered the ingredients ! That changes things, I thought you went to his house and cooked for him but this sounds even better, what an amazing deal. Got me thinking actually haha but not sure how long or what times I could personally commit to as sometimes work is up and down with hours...

It's easier for me to say 'give me more' at the moment, where my only other time constraints at the moment are study, and the need to do a work placement for it. I'd certainly need more hands if I had all his clients, but initially I'd like to take on a couple of extras too.

I'd be fine with cooking at their place, or doing the shopping for it myself even, but all depends on the payment. If I find I get too many clients, I'll let you know and maybe you can pick some up to fill in the gaps

Sounds like a plan!! Although I'd only hope I could do as good a job as you at using the ingredients they give lol but I am always up for a challenge and would be curious to try it out so let me know haha

I will. And I'm sure you're good at following a recipe, which is all I really did. Well, once I'd worked out the recipe I guess, but...

Thanks for sharing the menu, looks great :) It really is pleasing to cook for others who are grateful. I use to be an apprentice chef and worked in various kitchens. I did move on to different work, but I really enjoyed experimenting with different flavours and the presentation. I just hated working weekends and night shifts ;)

The work hours required in doing a chef's qualification is the main thing stopping me from doing one. I do want to keep privately cooking for others though

Hello there!

This post has been upvoted as a thank you for supporting @sexywhalebot.

Have a sexy and profitable day! : ]

lol a sexy whale bot..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64284.72
ETH 2650.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79