Vegan, Gluten Free, No-Bake Chocolate Cookies

in #food7 years ago

FullSizeRender 15.jpg

Chocolate?

Did someone say chocolate?

Where is it? Yes, I want some :)

That's briefly how my brain reacts when it picks up the word "chocolate".

And if it's homemade, with very little sugar and easy to make, I'm in.

So when I recently saw a video of a Romanian girl showing a recipe for chocolate cookies for kids, made out of only 4 ingredients I said: "I'm gonna make this!"

And so I did.

And because it's so easy and yummy I'm gonna share the recipe with you.

Ready?

Here it is:

Ingredients

8 tbsp carob powder
8 tbsp cocoa powder
8 tbsp melted coconut oil
4 tbsp water
2-4 tbsp honey
Roasted hazelnuts or any other nuts or raisins for decoration

FullSizeRender 14.jpg

Now, the original recipe was made with carob only because it was especially for kids. I chose to mix in some cocoa because I like its taste and I like to play a bit with every recipe I make.

And, because I have a very low tolerance to sugary tastes I've put only 2 tbsp of honey instead of 4 as in the original recipe and I added more water until it had the right consistency.

How to do this

Make sure you're using the same spoon to measure your ingredients.

Simply mix everything in bowl using the same spoon you used for measuring, until it's creamy and soft like a thick cream.

If it's too dry, add some more water. If it's too liquid, add some more carob or cocoa powder.

Because I only put 2 tbsp of honey I had to supplement with water.

Then lay out a sheet of baking paper on a tray that will fit in your freezer.

I used a special pipping bag with a noozle to shape the cookies but if you don't have one you can improvise with a simple plastic bag that you cut at one end.

It looks like this:
IMG_2507.JPG

And this is the end result before putting them in the freezer where I will leave them for a couple of hours.
FullSizeRender 15.jpg

And this is how the bowl is "cleaned" by @dragosroua to make sure nothing goes to waste :)

IMG_2506.JPG

And that's it. Now you need to wait a few hours and then, bon appetit!

Here's the original video with the recipe explained. Although it's in Romanian you can at least have a clear picture of the steps and of how thick the composition needs to be.

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this post, don't forget to up vote and leave a comment! :)


Hi, I'm Raluca. I've studied communication and psychology, and I'm currently working as a copywriter. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @raluca.

Raluca


Sort:  

Yummy and the most important thing it is not harmful !! Go Vegan !

Yay, go vegan! :)

I can only say....Yummmm :)

yeap, that's the reaction :)

I like it. I will try this recipe :)

Cool, let me know how it goes :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74