You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sauerkraut is Made With Cabbage, Salt and a Healthy dose of Kneading and Pounding.

in #food7 years ago

Great post, thank you for explaining this! I love fermented cabbage but I always thought you need to do large amounts of it (that's how my parents did it) and where I live I don't have storage space. I'm gonna try what you shared here with a small jar! Thank you :)

Sort:  

Very good @raluca! 1 medium cabbage chopped will squish down into a 1 litre jar. Once it has fermented, the longer you keep it in the fridge, the stronger the kraut juice flavour will become. As a side note, if you mix some of the kraut juice with tomato juice, it makes a fantastic mix for a bloody Caesar. Add a wedge of lemon a dill pickle and a stalk of celery. Alcohol is up to you. Most use vodka. :)

Thanks for the extra tips and the drink recipe! I borrowed a big jar from my mom, now I need to buy the cabbage. I'll let you know how it goes. :)

Very good @raluca! @kiwideb made some good observations. She's located in New Zealand and her internal house temperature isn't as warm as mine, here in Canada. My fermentation process is quicker than hers as a result and only takes overnight where hers can take several days.
Leave your jar, on your counter until you notice gas bubbles that have formed on the walls of your jar. This is the indicating factor that you have achieved fermentation of the cabbage and its juice. Once you see this, the jar can be stored in your refrigerator. Please do let us know, how it goes for you. :)

Good to know, thanks for the extra info, I'll do that. I saw you also make kombucha, I'm will try that too this week for the first time. If you have any tips on that, I would love to know them. Maybe share them in another article here on Steemit. Thanks again. :)

Will do. I just parted company with my scoby after 2 years, so I don't have a way to make kombucha at the moment. One thing that I can tell you is that the scoby likes the same temperature as us, not too cold and not too hot. Make sure your brewed tea is room temperature. I always started out with a base of concentrated green tea. I hope this helps you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67626.56
ETH 3806.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76