You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vegan, gluten free & low histamine energy balls (No bake)

in #food6 years ago

Sorry to hear you're going through food allergies as well. I also have the same issue with losing weight when I was already underweight. My doctor told me to eat more of what is allowed, but I agree it is a challenge. She also told me to not go the route of testing every possible allergy because most of the times these tests are not relevant. She suggested the elimination diet and then adding back gradually one food at a time to see which one causes trouble. I'm still on the elimination phase.

And yes, most of these healthy foods are way more expensive than the usual ones. I find it frustrating that gluten free stuff costs so much more than the regular. What I do is to make a lot of research and go shop where I find the best prices, either off line or online. And I try to buy in bulk or bigger packaging when possible as these have the best prices.

Wishing you to get better soon and to have enough money for your needs.

Sort:  

thanks!

Yes I had the elimination diet stuff too. I actually never quite got 'out' of it. I had some improvements when on it but once I started adding stuff, I quickly ran into problems again so I fell back to the eliminated list of foods. But the foods that are left are simply not that great and it makes for a super bland dish when you can't use 99% of herbs and spices (incl. onion, garlic, etc. which is in everything). I basically lived off of quinoa for a very long time, and have grown to hate it with a passion because of it. I used to call my evening dinner 'my daily slop' because it always involved the same handful of veggies and spices. Only so much variation is possible with a limited amount of foods

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60231.85
ETH 3263.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43