My first homemade gluten free pizza that actually tastes like GOOD pizza :)

in #food7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2105.JPG

For some time now I've been experimenting with a gluten free diet, to see how I feel and if it has a positive effect on some blood tests.

I'm yet to retake the tests and I've been a bit less strict with avoiding gluten in the last month. Especially when eating out, there are not so many vegetarian and gluten free options.

However, at home, I did my best to respect my diet.

One of the things I've been missing the most since starting this gluten free thing, was the taste of pizza. I didn't eat it too often before either, but once in while I feel like indulging with a good ol' pizza.

I've bought this pack of gluten free flour, a mix made especially for pizza.

IMG_9752.JPG

I kept in my kitchen for a couple of months until I finally decided to give it a go. My previous attempts at making gluten free pizza resulted in something that resembled a new construction material. I was laughing with @dragosroua at the time, we were making jokes about this being a new, revolutionary way to build houses. It was that hard and impossible to eat.

So you can imagine now why I've been avoiding for so long to try yet another gluten free recipe.

I double checked the instructions, and fortunately I was knowledgeable enough to realise that the Romanian translation was off. It said to put the dough in the fridge after mixing the flour with the water and yeast. I knew on the contrary that you have to cover it and let it sit in a warm place so it can grow. Of course in the original text on the package in Italian and English there was no such non-sense.

Anyways, I followed the correct instructions and the end result was a fluffy, tasty pizza that looked and felt like a regular, gluten one.

This one was all gone in no time.

IMG_2105.JPG

Oh, the joy and gratitude for the people who invented this mix. I'm gone buy more of this and do it again, trying other toppings also :)

Namaste!

UPDATE: I had a piece of dough left from when I made the first two pizzas. I kept it in the fridge and prepared it the next day. I added some extra toppings, like mushrooms and dried tomatoes and to my surprise it was even better than the first one. The crust was not so fluffy anymore, but it was still perfect: a bit crunchy on the bottom and fluffy in the middle. Here it is: IMG_3895.JPG

IMG_0804.JPG


Hi, I'm Raluca. Freelance copywriter, currently going through a Yoga Teacher Training. I have an educational background in communication and psychology. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.
Raluca round crop  copy.png

Sort:  

@raluca I like Pizza but then again I like Ice Cream too. I really should eat more vegetables........

you could add more veggies to your pizza :)

that looks delicious , i wanna try

OOH my wife might like that. She's gluten intolerant and has a mess of food allergies so it's difficult to find good-tasting stuff for her to eat. I'm leaving you a comment so I can easily come back to this post if she wants to try the pizza.

Thanks for sharing this!

You're welcome, I hope she'll like this as much as I did :)

wow that's looks really delicious :D

it was indeed yummy :)

That actually look really good for being gluten free. I started a gluten free diet a few months back and have seen some pretty significant results. Pizza and bread are the 2 things I miss most. Unfortunately I don't think I'd be able to find that crust in South America. Thanks a lot for making me crave pizza now... ;)

Glad to hear you're seeing good results with your gluten free diet. Yeap, pizza and bread, I missed them too the most...I hope you can find a similar mix, there must be something available where you live also :)

The pizza looks like it's really delicious

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63006.79
ETH 2456.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59