In love with french fries? Here's a healthier, delicious alternative!

in #food7 years ago

FullSizeRender 16.jpg

French fries are right next to chocolate in my brain's top foods to drool for! :)

So far I managed to keep this craving under control, and I only eat them once or twice a week.

But I still loooove them! So I thought why not try a home made, quick, easy, healthier version?

And so I did...

And the end result was even more delicious than I hoped for.

So if you too are a french-fries-addict like myself, you might try this version from time to time.

Ingredients:

  • new potatoes (but I guess you can as well replaced them with regular ones)
  • a mix of dried aromatic herbs or whatever you have and like: rosemary, thyme, basil
  • coarse sea salt
  • olive oil

I'm not giving you any indications for quantities because it depends on how big is your tray. The idea is to put just the right amount of potatoes so they are nicely lined up in one layer, not more.

How to do this:

Preheat your oven on medium heat.

If you have new potatoes it's enough to wash them well and remove the soft skin flakes but leave the rest. If you have regular ones, peel them and wash them.

Next, lay a baking paper on a tray.

Cut the potatoes into wedges and put them on the tray.

Sprinkle salt, herbs and a good lump of olive oil and mix them using your hands so each slice is covered with the mix of salt, herbs and oil.

Then arrange them so they fit nicely in one layer.

Let them in the oven for about 15-20 minutes, depending on how crazy your oven is.

Get the tray out the oven, then gently turn them on the other side. The side that has been facing the tray should have a beautiful golden colour.

Put them back in the oven for another 15-20 minutes and take them out.

I let them cool down a few minutes in a plate on some paper towels to remove excess oil.

Eat them with a salad aside or with your favourite dip or however you like. Bon appetit! :)

The nice part about this potatoes is that they are tasty even the next day, if you want to have a quick lunch at work.

IMG_2520.JPG

I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

If you like this recipe, let me know in the comments below.

And show your love with an upSteem & resteem :)


Hi, I'm Raluca. I've studied communication and psychology, and I'm currently working as a copywriter. You can find me mainly on my blog at BeingRaluca where I write about communication, relationships, listening, sexuality and many more. Here on Steemit you can follow me @raluca.

Raluca


Sort:  

looks delicious!

After looking at the pic my brain deleted healthy/unhealthy words from it's memory ;)

Totes, we get into making our occasionally for sure! Love the recipe.

We've used sweet potatoes instead of regular or new potatoes and love it; some rosemary from the garden, salt & pepper, and you're off to the races.

-edit: You TOTALLY inspired this post on cauliflower mac 'n cheese that @bunnylove just made me, thank you!
cauliflower mac n cheese.JPG

Wow, that looks delicious! Awesome, glad my post was inspiration for this yumminess :) I'll check the recipe.

Right on, enjoy! Super simple to make, we stopped fiddling with "cauliflower rice" and just chop it up in small enough bites to make it easy. :)

Yes, looks so good.

Oh my goodness @raluca, you caught my attention! Lol! It's my decadent addiction....I eat wayyyy too many french fries to be honest with you, and I usually ear them fried...ughhh!! I know, not the healthiest way to go, but just being honest. I do need to take a page off of your recipe tho...it sounds delish! Not to mention baking the potoatoes sounds like the best alternative anyways! I'll give your recipe a try! Cheers to french fries! Hope you'll follow me and stay connected! 😊✌ @peazfulman

Glad to meet a fellow french-fries-lover@peazfulman :) Do try the recipe, and let me know how you find it. What I noticed, is that the quality of the potatoes makes or breaks this simple recipe. If you have a tasty type, then it's impossible not to have a delicious result. But if the potatoes are the bland, tasteless type, then there's not much you can do. So choose your potatoes wisely and steem on :)

Totally agree! Can't cut yourself short when making potato anything from home....love mah potatoes! Hehehe...😁✌

Super big fan of potato wedges and wish more eateries would switch to this option. I'll try out the recipe soon!

I agree with you on this one. Cool, let me know how it goes! ;)

yummy indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81