Quick & Healthy Dinner: 20 Minute Honey Garlic Shrimp

in #food7 years ago

honey-garlic-shrimp-5.jpg
Maybe we need a super quick super healthy dinner this week because maybe we had too many fat slices of orange bundt cake followed by a fatter slice of lemon cake lately. That’s what happens when salt-rimmed margarita and guac filled Cinco de Mayo and cake cake cake on Mother’s Day all fall into one (delicious) weekend. All the cake was consumed with the biggest smile because hello! cake and margaritas! But it’s time for a healthy recharge right about now. You feel me?

honey-garlic-shrimp-4.jpg
Guess what? We settled on a moving week! Which is super scary and stressful and awesome because (1) wow the beginning of June is very soon and (2) I have a work trip and 12837 things to do before that June week shows up. Can I be honest here? All of a sudden at age 30, I feel like an adult. Who owns a grown up home. With a kitchen renovation in the works. (Hold the phone, wait, what?) Still trying to process this. I mean at this point the new house is 50% dust, 50% moving boxes, and a bed. And it drives my anxious brain into overdrive.

Related: somehow the home we currently live in is exactly the same, but more like 50% dog hair tumbleweed, 50% moving boxes, and a bed.

20-minute-honey-garlic-shrimp-3.jpg
Anyway. I wish I could tell you that I’ve been cooking up all of these wonderful and gorgeous meals lately because I’m a food blogger by day and food blogger by night. But my reality: I’m living in two places, the energy to cook wonderful and gorgeous meals = dwindling, and gray uncooked shrimp is actually very un-wonderful and un-gorgeous. Real life truth.
The combination of honey and garlic is music to my tastebuds, but you know what’s even better than that? We have a 20 minute dinner on our hands tonight. That’s why I love cooking seafood for dinner so often: it’s quick. The shrimp takes a whopping 5 minutes to cook on the stove, while the marinating takes another 15. Ok ok so whisking the marinade together will take an extra 12 seconds, but whatever.

In the marinade we have 3 familiar favorites: honey, soy sauce, and garlic. For a little extra flavor, I added some minced fresh ginger, but that’s optional. I just reeeeeally love honey + garlic + ginger.

honey-garlic-shrimp.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @rajibonlak! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61023.73
ETH 2948.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51