Steemit Life & Food Experimentation - Gluten Free Vegan Quinoa and Sweet Potato Pakora

in #food6 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

That looks lovely :) thanks for sharing. I certainly like a good pakora, feel like I've been too busy to cook lately ...so one must make him self unbusy :).

ha ha, yeah @niko3d. You should definitely make yourself unbusy... I'm never too busy for pakora ;-) Thanks for your comment

A a great combination wow for that

Cool @techxegama. Glad you enjoyed the combo of sweet potato and quinoa for the pakora ;-) Thanks for your comment

Well @raj808 It sounds to me like you are having plenty of fun!!! And thats what life is about! :) If you are smiling, and it feels good... then it IS good! Oh, and DAAAAMN that looks tasty!!!!!!

yeah. It was a lot of fun making dinner that day and I love experimenting with food. Finding inspiration on steemit is one of my fav activities. Thanks for your comment @jaynie, I thought you might like my food post being such a great food blogger yourself :-)

Experimenting with food is probably my favourite pastime @raj808 (second to drinking wine lol) ;) and YES, I LOVE your foodie posts!

That really looks good, I can imagine eating with the sauce... oh, hungry...
I think the best is the fresh vegetables from your own garden, that must be very satisfying!

Yeah, it is wonderful being able to look at a dish and know that 90% of it is stuff you've grown. You put it perfectly @joelai - very satisfying ;-)

Thanks for your comment

mmm. Those look delicious! Thanks for sharing. :)

No problems @uniwhisp. Glad you enjoyed the post and it has my mischievous side grinning ear to ear thinking of all the mouths watering across the steem-o-sphere cause of my post ;-)

Thanks for your comment

Hey @raj808

I love the comparison to a mmorpg. I feal like that a lot and it's partly why I'm so addicted to it! 😁

The food looks great btw. My daughter is requesting to go vegatarian, so I think we will gradually incorporate veg only and see how it goes. This dish looks great and I love Tiger beer!!

Cheers, Gaz

Ha ha, yes steemit will eventually swallow us all into another world where we communicate via comments and discord ;-) Cool that your daughter is going vegetarian... says the dude who has been vegi since he was 6 years old. It isn't difficult for me, just natural. In all seriousness this recipe is really high protein low carb as gram/chickpea flour is high protein. Biggest potential problem to my mind about vegi diet is high carb intake. You have to be sure to eat widely and intelligently. Anyway, glad you enjoyed the post and recipe :-)

Thanks for your comment

Maybe I'll check back in with you nearer the time that we let Jaime to go for it. She is 15 and we are kind of holding her off of going for it at the moment but we are not opposed to her doing it. She doesn't want to gradually do it, she want to dive right in, where we would rather gradually do it as a family. What do you think?

Yeah I think it is pretty ok to let a young person just go for it with vegetarianism as it isn't as difficult to get right as going vegan. I would say if your daughter isn't a fussy eater (like she eats widely) then it should turn out fine. If it is something you guys wanna do as a family for health reasons then that is cool too :-) I just looked at your profile @cheese4ead and it's nice to see another fellow Brit on steemit. I have met about 5-6 I think but we're a small community compared to my Nigerian or Philippine friends. Those peeps are rocking steemit hard lol. Anyway, following you now.

Jaime is a good eater and always has been. She is definitely willing to try new things. Actually thinking about it, meat has always been a take it or leave it thing for her. She would eat a wide range of things for sure so I guess thats a good sign. My wife participates in meat free Monday, a sustainability drive, but I think we are willing to expand on that too. Just not immediate enough for my daughter!

So you are a fellow Brit and a scuba diver! Excellent. I have followed you back. I'm trying to push steemit out to friends and family but they are not particularly receptive at the moment. I guess thats in-keeping with the poor press for crypto too. Bloody British media!

I like this, something new and an enjoyable treat while watching a good movie. Good way to lay off the meat once in a while. If I could just find all the ingredients or maybe substitute something else for those unavailable here.

What ingredient is proving a problem @watersnake101? I'm guessing it may be the gram flour? I think if it is you could substitute with wheat flour but reduce the amount, also it would be a different texture. Yeah, it is a good meat substitute as it's high in protein :-)

Thanks for your comment

Yep that would be it and also the quinoa. I'm searching online looks like there is hope as there seems to be some local sellers.

This looks delicious. Pakoras are popular here in Pakistan especially in my house and this recipe is fantastic!

Thanks @sharoonyasir. i think it has less onion in than usual if my memory serves me but as I can't tolerate them without drama I just cut them down to a little spring onion for flavor. It is great to get the seal of approval from someone from a culture where these foods are a daily staple. Thanks for reading and so let me know in this comment thread if you ever post your Pakora recipe :-)

love it! i also am hugely grateful for the cross-pollination and inspiration that happens on steemit. it's been a huge blessing in my life and is one of the best communities on the internet! these look totally yummy. way to go growing your own food & eating it in delicious ways :D

Thanks @mountainjewel at the moment I am getting creative ;-) With recipes for french beans as I have a tone of green and purple ones. I'll freeze some if I have too but prefer to eat right off the bush within 4-8 hours of picking. Steemit is indeed a kick ass community :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67773.53
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71