How to Make Peanut Butter Granola

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! Long time no see on my end and I apologize. There have been many things going on around here and life has been crazy but I have decided to try to get in here and start posting again though I cannot promise daily posts, I will at least try to get something out once a week.

So to start with, here is a simple, healthy, and frugal recipe for making your own breakfast cereal!

When trying to find more ways to save money on our foods and also be more natural and healthy. I got myself into making our own granola. Though I still buy certain boxed or bagged cereals, I ONLY will buy the good organic and non-GMO brands that I trust. These are nice just to keep variety but can become pretty expensive.

peanut butter granola.JPG

I make a hot breakfast three to four days in the week from scratch (biscuts and gravy, pancakes, elk, beef, or venison sausage with farm eggs and fried potatoes, et cetera) and I also make hot cereals such as oatmeal or my own whole grain and seed hot cereal blend. Now and then though, Mr. Rain just likes to have a bowl of cold cereal. So making a good healthy and frugal option is important.

Peanut butter granola is the easiest one and also is our favorite.

Ingredients:
*1 cup organic peanut butter
*1 cup raw honey
*6 cups oats (one can substitute some of the oats for coconut, seeds, or other grains but we prefer just the oats when making this particular granola)

Put the oats in a large bowl and in a small saucepan on low heat melt together the honey and the peanut butter mixing until smooth. Pour over the oats and mix with a large fork (or spoon if you prefer) until well coated.

Spread out on one to two baking sheets (I prefer the stoneware) and bake at 350° for 30 minutes being sure to stir the granola half way through to be sure it is evenly browned.

In my video below, I show how I make my granola on top of my wood burning stove so if you are off grid or just looking for ways to save electricity, you will want to check this out:

Hope you enjoyed this post and will give this recipe a try! Thank you for your time Faithful Reader! ~ Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Nice to see you back, @raincountry! This sounds really tasty and versatile.

Look so nice!

I love a good granola. Biscuits and gravy sounds really good too though. Oh man now i’m Hungry ❗️

@raincountry, checked my pantry tonight to be sure I have everything. I'm definitely going to make this. Thanks for the post.

Why have I never thought to do it over the woodstove??! I make a lot of granola too, and will have to give it a try pronto. Thanks so much for the idea!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98