Blackberry Pickin'!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

We have a friend with tons of blackberries growing wild on their property. We were invited to come pick some of their abundance and we gladly obliged.

IMG_2271.JPG

The blackberries are coming in early here and this is our first picking with many more to come.

This time of year we get two main types, the Himalayans and the Evergreens. The Himalayans are the most difficult to pick, with bigger, tougher thorns but they have the best flavor. We gladly deal with the bit of blood letting that ensues in the process of foraging as we are happy to have this delicious, free fruit.

IMG_2273.JPG

It is pretty easy to tell the two berries apart by their leaves as they are very different. First photo is the leaf of the Evergreen:

IMG_2286.JPG

This is the leaf of the Himalayan:

IMG_2287.JPG

This shows the thorns of the Himalayan:

IMG_2288.JPG

Here is Patrick dumping his first full bucket into our 5-gallon bucket which we got nearly full in a short time.

IMG_2276.JPG
IMG_2289.JPG

And this is just a random shot I took of some water lilies on the pond near where we were picking:

IMG_2282.JPG

Now to get to preserving what we have so far so we can go out and get another 5 gallons in a few days, and then, if all goes well, another 5 gallons a few days after that!

Hope you are all having a lovely Sunday! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

That's a lot of blackberries :-)

Wow! I love blackberry. With your thorns challenge, it got me to thinking: how did they harvest those berries in beautiful packages in the grocery store. Ugh, more research. Aloha!

Painfully like we do? haha!

Lol, boy am I an idiot! 😜😁

Awesome friends you have! It's amazing how different looking the two plants' leaves are, with such similar fruit. Yum yum!!

Yum Yum I love blackberries.

I have not in my 51 years ever canned a single thing! I went to our local farmers market and got blackberries and peaches to make and can jam. Thank you for showing me that is easy and rewarding. Even a fail is a win because I learned something❤Love and prayers for you both!

Excellent it is a lot of free blackberries, my friend enjoy it and prepared it a lot of marmalade to enjoy itbi believed, good tasted. :)

i upvoted your post plz upvote me back !!

Awesome post! You are so lucky with all those fresh berries. A little jealous here hehe!

Nice, I like the post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88