Tis The Season For EggNog Coffee On The Wood Burning Stove! Photos & Recipe How To!

in #food6 years ago

Cold Winter Greetings To All!



Coffee is one of my favorite every day fuels, besides air, water and STEEM of course ;-)>



However eggnog is one of my favorite seasonal pleasures. Of course it could be made any day of the year, but traditionally its just around thanksgiving and Christmas that it is made/sold/consumed. 

So I wanted to share a nice little seasonal sensation with you all here~*~ 



First off there are MANY ways that one could make the egg nog coffee. The easiest would be to simply purchase a container of already made eggnog and add some espresso to it. Though I personally like the eggnog to be warmed first and also of course would not buy egg nog from a store. 



When you really think about it you realize there are just so many different methods and combinations a simple eggnog coffee could be......So instead of discussing all those options I will just say how I made this one. Then make your own variation in the way that is most practical and to your taste. 


I of course make everything including "eggnog coffee" at the highest sustainable standards. While I hope others are inspired by it or embody it them selfs I have no judgement and do it simply because it is what I must do for my own ideals~*~



Making eggnog isn't exactly as fast as pouring out of a container, but its not hard to make, if you would like to give it a try it is far more delicious than store bought egg nog. Here is a nice recipe to try. 



  • 4 cups milk, 
  • 1 cup sugar, 
  • 12 large egg yolks, 
  • 1 cup heavy cream, 
  • grated nut meg,
  • ...BURBON ANYBODY?
  1. In medium saucepan, whisk milk and sugar over medium heat until sugar is dissolved, 1 to 2 minutes. In a large bowl, whisk egg yolks. Whisking constantly, pour hot mixture into yolks in a slow and steady stream. 
  2. Return mixture to pan; cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until thick enough to coat back of spoon, 20 to 25 minutes; do not let simmer. Quickly strain into a bowl. Stir in bourbon, if desired, and cream. Cool completely; cover with plastic wrap; refrigerate until chilled. Garnish with nutmeg, if desired.


I don't have an espresso maker so I just use a french press and make it extra strong. I heat all the water on a wood burning stove in the winter time and on a rocket stove in the spring, summer and fall. 



Of course coffee is always going to be better if the beans are fresh ground, but its obviously not a requirement. 

After the coffee is steeped and brewed I add it to a pot with eggnog to get it all nice and warm.



Then I serve and enjoy!



Enjoy life and do it honorably! Full Steem Ahead!


I am now doing 50/50 payout posts simply because the SBD is overvalued at the moment, but I will be converting it all to $teem and powering up of course!



I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit. I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an upvote!

SteemOn!



Sort:  

Tis the season!

I used to LOVE eggnog, and I used to LOVE coffee... has such a thing like this existed when I consumed either by the gallon, I probably would have been long dead by now :-) Looks very delicious!

hahahahaha

Yes in your situation you need to obtain from BOTH of these. However when you are an empowered master alchemist then its quite the delicious fuel!

Blessings on the way to enlightenment~*~

tried eggnog once in my life in america. It was some eggnog starbucks coffee.

I didn't like it lol.

Starbucks is generally a crappy thing to use as a comparison.. they do their own spin on things. Eggnog from Starbucks is like getting a haircut from your deli counter clerk at your local grocery store... ;) Don't be surprised if it's not quality. Now their coffee.. can't knock it. :)

hahahahahahahaha

Hey everyone has their "flava" and honestly starbucks shit taste pretty good but mine is better ;-)>

hahahah noted guys

Bourbon for sure.

hahaha AGREED!

Amazing publication Thank you for sharing I appreciate your great effort.@resteem.

Your welcome

Super love you QiQi!

I never had eggnog but I also believe this is the type of situation when you don't really enjoy the coffee flavor at first ( unless you really love eggnog) but then it grows on you.

Although... if presented with the situation of drinking flavored coffee that also has a hint of bourbon, I won't say no to it.

hahaha agreed!
If there is bourbon in there I will have a glass! More like two ;-)>

In this winter EggNog Coffee is awesome expect one. I like your recipe. Thanks

French presses rock.

That they do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51