Daily Harvest Episode 3: Wild Harvesting Lamb's Quarter, An Abundantly Available Super Food!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Greetings!


Health and sustainability are of the utmost importance to me, and this post is a specialty of both!

Today, I share with you a video of me harvesting and discussing Lamb's Quarter, a super nutritionally dense food which grows natively in much of North America. It is great for cultivating as well as wild harvesting! 

After the video, I have pictures and nutrition information which is very valuable. 

I also discuss other matters of importance as I walk along in The Garden of Eden, so come share an educational and healthy 6 minutes with me in this video!



Here are some closer up pictures of Lambs Quarter so you can better identify it!



It tastes quite good!



Here are some photos of the plants going to seed. 






This plant as I said is a super food and very rich in nutrition. What I find most substantive is that it is over 20% protein and has a LOT of pure amino acids, which are actually far more important than protein. 

In just a one ounce serving you get:

  • Tryptophan 10.6 mg
  • Threonine 45.6 mg 
  • Isoleucine 70.8 mg
  • Leucine 98.0 mg
  • Lysine 99.1 mg
  • Valine 63.3 mg
  • Methionine 13.7 mg
  • Cystine 24.9 mg
  •  Histidine 32.5 mg
  • Arginine 70.8 mg
  • Phenylalanine 46.5 mg
  • Tyrosine 49.0 mg  
  • Aspartic acid 121 mg 
  • Alanine 90.2 mg  
  • Glutamic acid 146 mg
  • Glycine 69.7 mg
  • Serine 56.0 mg
  • Proline 62.4 mg
     

Maybe even harder to find in nature are omega fats!

Lamb's quarter is super rich in omega fatty acids as well!

In just a one ounce serving you get:

  • Total Omega-6 fatty acids 87.6 mg
  • Total Omega-3 fatty acids 10.1 mg

These are super important for health and quite rare in most people's diets. 

I hope you consider growing or wild harvesting some of this super sustainable, cheap super food!


As always, I welcome your feedback and appreciate your support~

SteemON!



Sort:  

Lamb's Quarter is the BEST! I love how abundant and happy it i to grow. There's no fuss over Lamb's Quarter! We hung up many stalks to dry today, to be used as dried greens throughout the winter. So grateful for the perfection of nature! <3

Oh great!
Make a post about it!

Dandy idea!!

(((<3)))

Good post, I've known about lambsquarters since I started doing research on wild edible mushrooms and plants. However, I did not know what kind of vitamins where in it!

Hey @crypto-investor

I find it somewhat funny but also enjoyable that you are commenting here on this post.

Crypto investing and wild crafting and homesteading are "so different" yet here you are saying you are into wild mushrooms!

ITs amazing how much we actually have in common even though there is also so much that is "different"

I love to and prefer to focus on that with its common interest and mutually beneficial.

I very much have appreciated your contributions of crypto updates and I am grateful that you also appreciate a post such as this that is SO different.

I really hope to have more interactions with you in the future. I appreciate your comment and getting to know you better.

I just picked some for a vegan dish earlier! Love 'em!

YEA!!!
SO easy, tasty and super nutritious!
We put them in green juice every day and I eat a few whenever I walk by them =)>
Its an honor to have you take the time to make a comment on my post King Pepper!
;-)> hahahhahahaa

Such abundance jam packed into that awesome plant! It's also a dynamic accumulator. Which means it can be chopped and dropped to serve as nutrient rich mulch.

Yes your right!
Which makes it just even that much more awesome!

Excellent post dear friend @ quinneaker very interesting I must admit that unknown all this information, thank you very much for sharing this wonderful material
Have an excellent weekend

Happy to share valuable information my friend!
Knowledge is power.
Wish you the best and hope to see you again soon!

You have an abundance of plant knowledge. Really comes in handy when hiking to be able to identify edible plants.

This is true!
One of the MANY benefits!

Hello @quinneaker, thanks for making me discover this plant, I have never tasted them as we don't have it over hear!
It seems that it can be used in various dishes! Smoothies, sauteed, eaten as salad, in soup etc... Great one to have indeed!
Thanks
@progressivechef

Oh yes it is a very culinary available food as it can be used in so many ways and because of its mild flavor takes the flavor of foods very well and clashes with nothing.
It is also extremely nutritious similar to Morninga maybe not quite as nutrition packed. Though it has a much smoother and milder flavor. I find its flavor much nicer than that of mooring but the consistency is similar.

Interesting, I would love to try Lambs Quater. I would be afraid to find it myself, though. Maybe the health food store would have some. Another interesting post @quinneaker, thank you!

Thanks for the feedback and support!
Its very easy to find in many places in the USA. I never seen it at a health food store they mostly only sell standard generic crops. If you know any gardeners or homesteaders or such they probably know about it.
Hope to see you around again soon!

I love Lamb's Quarters; it reminds me the taste of spinach. It's very common in Italy too and I found it in Chile as well!

Wow @cryptofarmer what an awesome Steemit Name!
Congrats on going up with and securing that one!
Yes lambs quarter is very common throughout mid climate zones. Great to know its thriving in south america and Europe also!

Thanks for sharing! Missed the moringa post. Just love that tree. They grow everywhere here. Will keep an eye out for the Lambs Quarter. Think I might have seen it growing here in Cambodia too. But not sure. Thanks for another great post.

I am not aware if it grows naturally there but it seems to me that it WOULD be able to grow there just fine based on the characteristics.
Though if you have moringa and plenty of it, there is no need for it ;-)>
MORINGA FTW!

Variation is always a good thing ;) Especially when you can find them in the wild. Have a great and loving day.

Amen to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43