DIY Coconut Ice Cream Fail - The Secret Ingredient

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This photo was the result of my Do-It-Yourself Coconut Ice Cream. I have done this successfully before so I was surprised when it came out "icey" as seen in my photo. It should have a creamy texture like a regualar ice cream.

Before I reveal the secret ingredient that makes a perfect ice cream, let me show you the ingredient and procedure.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 tabelespoon chia seeds

*You can add any fruit that you like. Some even add lemon for added zest.

Procedure

  1. Slice banana and mash it in a bowl
  2. Mix in coconut milk, honey and chia seeds
  3. Blend well
  4. Transfer to a plastic container with lid
  5. Keep in freezer overnight

It's easy. But where did I go wrong

I checked all ingredients and found one was a bit different from the first time I tried.

I found the culprit!

It's the packed coconut milk with added water! Makes sense because the ice cream was like iced and not creamy. It's water!

Now don't get me wrong. Water is good. H2O is life. But not for coconut ice cream.

The Solution and Secret Ingredient

Pure coconut milk

You can buy this from local markets where you see them process it from the coconut meat. If you can't find this in your local market, look for packed ones that says pure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59248.66
ETH 2601.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43