Tofu Scramble for Breakfast

in #food6 years ago

IMG_1691.jpg

As a vegan sometimes I struggle with finding a good hearty breakfast other than oatmeal that I eat at least four times a week. I did find a good recipe for scrambled tofu that is very good and filled with protein. It is very quick and easy to prepare and listed below are the ingredients:

Ingredients
SCRAMBLE
• 8 ounces extra-firm tofu
• 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
• 1/4 red onion, thinly sliced
• 1/2 red pepper, thinly sliced
• 2 cups kale, loosely chopped
SAUCE
• 1/2 tsp sea salt
• 1/2 tsp garlic powder
• 1/2 tsp cumin powder
• 1/4 tsp chili powder
• water to thin
• optional: 1/4 tsp turmeric
FOR SERVING (optional)
• Salsa
• Cilantro
• Hot Sauce
• Breakfast potatoes, toast, and/or fruit

https://minimalistbaker.com/southwest-tofu-scramble/


IMG_1526.jpg

Created in Canva

Sort:  

That looks wonderful. i would love to try it.

I'm not a big tofu person, I usually eat tempeh but I LOVE tofu scrambles!! Your recipe looks good, I will have to try it.

What does tempeh taste like @onbeachtime?

Hope I'm not butting in on the thread here, but I love tempeh, too! It's so nutty and hearty, so sometimes I do enjoy the texture a bit more than tofu (though tofu is great, too). I love it crumbled up in chili, thrown into a stir fry, or the Happy Herbivore has a bomb tempeh loaf recipe that I make all the time!

LOL! You're not butting in at all @plantstoplanks! You gave me a couple new ideas to try too :)

Haha, oh good! 😆

@pyemoney it is a bit more nutty but not over the top nutty. It fills me up fast when I eat it! It has a much more solid texture than tofu and less spongy. I love it in a buffalo sauce and in a stir fry :) This resturant I visit makes it into a Reuben but I haven't tried doing that myself yet but its very good.

Thanks so much @onbeachtime. I will have to try it.

The tofu scramble looks delicious. I love the variety of spices that it contains.

The spices are actually what makes the dish taste great because tofu takes on the taste of whatever spices you are using.

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57