Salad to Stay in Shape!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I started to love salad when me and my partner in crime @rcarter discovered the healthy benefits and different ways to make it at home.

In our first year of dating we used to go out to eat almost every single meal. We spent roughly 1500 pesos ($30 USD) a day, that's 45,000 pesos a month! (Which is a lot here in the Philippines). Until we noticed our weight was increasing more and our pants were getting tighter =D. So we decided to make a change.

We became fans of Food Network, a cooking show in USA. We both learned a lot of good recipes for salad.

Up until this day, we make salad at home at least 5 times a week. We enjoy it because it helps us stay in shape.

Here are some of our salad creations;

Arugula with Red Beans and Nuts
Arugula is bit overpriced in the Cebu, Philippines. I rarely buy it at the grocery store unless I get it from my farmer friends. I met them during my jog up the mountain here in Cebu. I saw a bunch of lettuce on the side of the street, they were going to deliver to the grocery store =). But I got lucky they sold me some, for only 150 pesos for a kilo but I gave them 200 because I got different kinds, from arugula, romaine, red leaf and green leaf lettuce (wa-lah! happy me!) =D

Ingredients:
Arugula
Red kidney beans
Almond
Pistachio
Sunflower seeds
Feta Cheese
Pan-seared boneless chicken

Dressing:
1tbsp Honey
4 tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
2 tbsp ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)
2 tsp dijon mustard
dash salt & pepper


Simple Salad

Iceberg lettuce is the cheapest lettuce you can buy at the same time very appetizing . I usually buy it for 40.00 pesos good for two people. Depending on how big your appetite is, you have to remember that you have other veggies to add to your salad.


Ingredients:
Iceberg Lettuce
Cucumber
Tomatoes
White Onion
Feta Cheese
Pan-seared boneless chicken (EVOO, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper)

Dressing 1 :
4 tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
2 tbsp ACV (Apple Cider Vinegar)
1 tsp lemon juice
2 tsp dijon mustard
about 1/8 tsp salt & pepper


Salad with Pan-seared Chicken and Homemade Bacon Tidbits


Ingredients:
Cucumber
Tomatoes
White Onion
Feta Cheese
Carrots
Red peppers
Apple
Almonds
Homemade bacon tidbits
Pan-seared chicken (EVOO, red pepper flakes, oregano, salt and pepper)

Dressing:
2 tablespoons mayonnaise.
2 EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
1/8 tsp Lemon juice
salt & pepper


Asian Beef Salad

Ingredients:
Arugula
Romaine Lettuce
White Onion
Green apple
Carrots
Cucumber
Chickpeas
Red kidney beans (love beans, it adds extra texture to my salad)

Dressing:
2 tbsp Lime juice
1/8 tsp Sesame oil
1 tbsp Honey
4 tbsp EVOO ( because I like to make my dressing healthier)
dash salt & pepper


PS
_
You can always adjust the dressing depending on your taste.*_

Hope you enjoy this post =)
Sharing is caring =) Feel free to re-use the contents with right credit or resteem! Thank you ^_-

Sort:  

Upvoted. Great Post @purepinay

My favorite is with steak. Then boil and mash some potatoes, and make some pan sauce with the steak juices.

Put the steak on the plate, and pile up the potatoes. Make sure to add extra gravy on mine.

OH, and the salad? Just throw it in the trash.

_Rob

Haha. I laughed at this. XD

He makes my life difficult sometimes lol

hahaha nice try! ya being wise dude! too bad you missed lunch with me, made a very good stake. Have fun in Thailand!

I wish I could healthy too. But inihaw na liempo is love. And pizza! Cake too... XD

omg those are so healthy! lol

balance is the key =)

Haha. Donut salad sounds great!

Eating healthy and having it taste great is the key. These salads look delicious, I might have to try one of your recipes tonight.

Thank you! Let me know which salad you are going to make 😊

Very healthy! ;) resteemed it

thank you beb!

Those all look yummy. Thanks for sharing.

It's okay, I have a lot of food recipes 😊

I'm hungryyyyy! Looks so yummy girl!

Thank you 😊

Oh man, that Asian Beef Salad seems really interesting. In general I was diggin' all of them tho.

Good array of veggies and cheese and meats going on!

Too many people think that salads need to be basic.. There's so much you can do with them and also by leaving the conventional lettuce type salads behind... the possibilities are pretty endless.

Made an Arugula Salad just last week too! It contained bell peppers, cucumbers, cheddar cheese, feta cheese, home grown tomatoes, cashews, pomegranate seeds and tuna in it. Plus my home made dressing.

That was the whole meal ;)

Keep up the fine cuisine ~

Well, I am fascinated by your creativity with food. Their are varieties how to make salad more fun to eat. I like experimenting with food, sometimes I fail, sometimes I do great, lol. I have to comment myself a little, don't I? lol

What is the secret with your homemade dressing? Mind sharing it? ^_-

Oh thanks lol. I'm starting to feel a little stale with my sandwiches only because I often make the similar ones. They taste sooo good, so at the same time I don't want to deviate lol

And yes! You have to recognize when you've done something good yourself. Give yourself a positive feeling.

The dressing is an oil and lemon base with fresh garlic and various other herbs. There's some other ingredients in there too like mustard etc.

Hey there! thank you for writing back. I really enjoy my time here. lol

I amke sammies too, it's versatile like others dishes. I like it a lot with different fresh veggies and some proteins.

I should be posting some of the sammies I made at home =)

Following you now..

I look forward to see some of your homemade creations ^_-

have a good one!

Hey @purepinay and @rcarter! Saw you on the Steemit PH post and following you now :) Looking forward to make some global connections. Greetings from Switzerland, Mabuhay! Shini & Dani

Hi, Shihi & Dani! Thank you for following. I appreciate the message. I forward to seeing your adventures. Maybe somewhere down the road we will run into each other =)

Where will be your next trip?
Followed back.

Yey :) On September 2 we are going to Japan and will also make a quick trip to South Korea. Will be trying to vlog a lot on YouTube there, and for sure you can expect a lot of posts on Steemit :)

Hi, Shihi & Dani!

Thank you for getting back on me.

You two must be very excited! I will look forward to your travel adventure. How long are you two staying in Japan. I love to visit this country someday =)

The whole trip will be just 2 weeks. Hope to make the most out of it :) We will be 6 best friends there. :) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71