3 Spectacular Health Benefits of Saffron

in #food7 years ago

false-saffron-3046278_1920.jpg

Saffron is an herb that has been used in cooking and for its health benefits for thousands of years, saffron, which is harvested by hand, is considered the world’s most expensive herb. After some extensive research on saffron, I have identified that there are several “golden benefits” of this herb. Native to Southwest Asia, saffron is used in many rice, risotto, and seafood dishes across the world. Adding this miracle herb to your cooking will provide a beautiful, intense orange color and will contribute a unique flavor. Saffron contains very powerful antioxidants, which can protect the body from radical damage. Saffron is known to be used for its therapeutic components due to the fact that it is a great source of iron, zinc, and magnesium. Three of the health benefits which caught my eye, were the herbs ability to inhibit skin tumors, improve vision & eye health, and even promote memory retention.

treatment-1327811_1920.jpg

Inhibit Skin Tumors:

According to the U.S. National Library of Medicine, saffron contains crocin, croectin, and safranal which are very powerful anti-cancer, preventative compounds.

eye-1132531_1920.jpg

Improve Eye & Vision Health:

Newly published scientific evidence suggests that saffron is able to combat against the deterioration of light-capturing cells in the retinas. Researchers also determined that saffron can also be linked to the improvement of visual sensitivity and provide long-term health of the eyes.

elephant-2992767_1920.jpg

Promote Memory Retention:

Saffron has demonstrated that it is able to ward of symptoms of insomnia and can be a regulator for disruptive sleep providing a more restful, deeper sleep. This correlation suggests that aging and the chances of mental impairment can be reduced by incorporating saffron in the body.

I hope that this was helpful, thank you so much for reading and don’t be afraid to reach out!

Sort:  

It is a very expensive ingredient but a little goes a long way! I use it when cooking Indian dishes, even Indian desserts like rice pudding.

I am so glad to hear you already use saffron @cookit! It’s always great to hear from you and thanks for the support!

I eat a lot of Saffron in my normal meals, I didn't know it had all of these benefits though! Thanks for sharing these, I really want to start adding even more saffron to my meals now!

Hey @khaleelkazi! I am very glad to hear that you are already using saffron in your cooking! Thanks for the support! 👍

I've never really tried cooking with saffron before, after reading this I'm going to give it a try though. Any dish you highly recommend @purefood that goes well with saffron? Besides rice, risotto, and seafood.

That's a good question, I'd also love to see a few recipes that have saffron in them! Maybe @purefood can make a few recipe posts with saffron!

Hey @dividendgrowth! Absolutely, thank you for the support and the good ideas! 👍

You should definitely try it, I highly recommend it in tea! There are an abundance of uses for it! Thank you for the great feedback and support @koldy!

we have a lot of Saffron in morocco we called it Red Gold because its expensive

Yes unfortunately it’s very expensive but Red Gold is cool name I have to admit!

The price in Morocco is 1 Kram 4 $

Wow! 😳

Morocco is the country of saffron free and its distinctive flavor is used in cooking Moroccan occasions and called red gold

I have always wanted to visit Morocco and this makes me want to go there even more! Thank you so much for the support! 👍

I will be very pleased to visit Morocco. I live in the city of Marrakesh, the first city to be visited by tourists from all over the world.

That sounds amazing, I am sure I would start my travels there!

In many countries saffron is not only considered as spice; it is used in various types of treatments such as detoxification as well as in spas.

Really? That would be amazing, I have never tried any saffron spa treatment, I’ll have to look into it! Thanks for the great feedback and support @hassanben! 👍

Saffron is rich in many nutritional values that make it have many health benefits, Like :

  • A source of high nutritional value
  • Asthma treatment
  • Anti-depressant
  • Helps relax and calm the nerves
  • Cancer Control
  • Improved symptoms of Alzheimer's disease.
  • Promotion of sexual health
  • Treatment of menstrual cycle disorders
  • Very useful for heart patients and blood pressure
  • Treatment for vision loss caused by age progression,

I completely agree you @beforandafter! Thank you for listing all of these fantastic benefits! Saffron is a recent discovery for me and I’m excited to incorporate it into my diet! 👍

It has long been used in traditional medicine around the world, and modern scientific study suggests that saffron could also have a role to play in fighting disease.. but its infamously expensive i think 1g=30$

Wow, yes very expensive! I couldn’t even imagine what the prices of higher quality saffron are either!

Saffron is also used in the kitchen because of the smell and the color it has and gives it to the food, thanks for writing about the benefits, I did not know everything @purefood

You’re welcome, I am very glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks for the great feedback and support! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58