You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double the Garbanzos! {Chickpea Fries & Crackers}

in #food6 years ago

Yum, all around yum! Those crackers browned nicely too. I just made some crackers not that long ago that had difficulty browning. Now I’m on a whole new eating kick so I can’t make the crackers I made before not can I have chickpea anything… big fat boooo. But hurray for feeling a heck of a lot better. I’m making cauliflower falafel and cauliflower hummus as we speak. Obviously my chickpea addiction is not going down quietly. Haha… great post my friend! I bet those fries would be delicious dipped in some guacamole 😋

Sort:  

First no potatoes, now the chickpeas?? That is a bummer. Worth it though if you are feeling better! Hopefully some day once your gut gets all happy again you can get a chance to try these because they are delicious! I'm sure guac would be fantastic with the fries. I still have a hard time getting all of the moisture out of the crackers to stay really crisp if there's any leftover, but they still taste darn good to me. I hope your cauliflower goodies came out delicious!

Posted using Partiko Android

The cauliflower goodies turned out really good. I thought I would have trouble with the extra moisture in the cauliflower too but I just baked them at a moderate temp for much longer and crisped up perfectly. (Is crisped up a word 🤦🏼‍♀️). A couple of days ago I made radish home style roasted potatoes radishes. The first couple bites were delicious but as they cooled they lost their crispness and gained their radish flavor. I wonder if soaking them in water would enable them to crisp up more. I might try to work with them one more time. Maybe a hash brown would work better… I’m rambling… either way when chickpeas are given the green light again, I’m all over this recipe.

I think crisped up is an appropriate phrase, so I'm sticking with it! It really is fun to see with a bit of patience and experimentation you can really find so many ways to make your favorite foods suit your needs.

I only tried roasting radishes once, and wasn't super stoked about how they came out. It would be interesting to see if the water soaking helps. I use them a lot since they are so abundant at the farmers market here, but tend to eat them raw or in a stir fry most often. I just got a few varieties this morning and I'm thinking about trying to ferment some maybe. I've got my second round of beet kvass going, so fingers crossed that experiment works out better this time!

Posted using Partiko Android

🤞I have mine crossed for you. The radish potatoes are not like potatoes at all. Sometimes I can get away with potato substitutes but I don’t think the radish is a winner. I was thinking about juicing them instead… I’ve read they have a lot of benefits that support your thyroid when juiced. We shall see. I’m still jealous of your rutabaga access over there… if I could only find jicama here I’d try to make some jicama fries and see how that turns out. I find it funny the things I can’t seem to find here but really would think they’d be in abundance. 🤷🏼‍♀️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51