Quick and Easy Pickled Onions My Style!!!

in #food7 years ago

In any supermarket shelves, you can find so many different varieties of pickled onions...But nothing beats a jar of homemade pickled onions!

Some days back I was so lucky to get my hands on some nice local pearl onions and without hesitating for any second, I decided to have them pickled!

There's hundred of ways to do onion pickles and trust me they are really very easy to make and the results are always amazing!

If you've never tried to make them before, I encourage you to do it as soon as you get the opportunity and if you wish simply follow the easy steps below to make it!


DSC_0004.JPG

This is how I make my pickled onions!

First step is to peel, wash and pat dry the onions! - This is the most tedious task in making pickled onions!

I then made a mixture of rock salt, sugar, black peppercorns and fresh allspice leaves which I got from my brother in law!

DSC_0001.JPG

Place the onions in a bowl and cover with this mixture!
Cover the bowl and keep for minimum 12 hours in the fridge!

DSC_0005.JPG


After the 12 hours in the fridge, take a brush and take off the excess of sugar/salt from the onions!

DSC_0006.JPG

Place the onions and allspice leaves in a sterilized jar!

DSC_0007.JPG


I made the brine by mixing natural white vinegar with little water, sugar and whole peppercorns! I simply heat the vinegar, but not boil!

I then pour this hot vinegar mixture over the jar of onions and sealed it!

Let the jar to cool down and then I placed it in the fridge!

DSC_0010.JPG


These onions will be ready to be enjoyed in one month time or will be at better taste after two months!

I placed them directly in the fridge as the temperature in Mauritius is just too hot and not good for pickles in general! And anyway, in the fridge you are sure to have them stay for longer!

Concerning the spices, you can use any one you wish, it all depends on your taste! You can go for mustard, coriander seeds, Chili flakes, ginger, bay leaves etc...or simply ready made pickling spices!

Et voila my pickled onions are done...I just have to be patient for couple of weeks and then I can enjoy these yummy crisp pickled onions!

How did you find my way of making pickled onions?
How do you normally make pickled onions?

Please do leave a comment below and share your secret about pickled onions...I would love to read and learn from you!

Wish you a lovely day ahead!
Thank You!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

For me this is a very inspirational post.
Depending on what you are pickling, there are many different ways to do it. I prefer the quick method but I appreciate any method because....

Sometimes you have to have it pickled.


I want to try those onions.. My mouth is watering. I guess we have to wait 2 months...

wowwww amazing recipe
thanks sir @progressivechef for sharing this

Good steem progressivechef.

I gived you a resteem.

Please have a look over this post: https://stееmit.com/@tworld/kdbug-tworld and give me you feedback!
I really want to know what do you think about the article!

Thanks progressivechef!

That is an excellent appetizer to me, partner with shrimp paste. Oh i miss province life.
Yum!

I haven't tried any onion pickle.. I have to try it once...I will try it once atleast

Nice pickle,but i make in different style,

I think this recipe is also give amazing taste.
I try this one also,thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74